Dual PSU question. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2005, 04:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Someone just posted this exact question a few days ago

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...8&pagenumber=1
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 04:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

I wouldnt risk it unless i had the few hundred to replace burned up parts.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 07:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Well here is what I am going to try: keep all the fans on the 400w, switch over the optical, floppy, and toss the 80gb hd in an external. So on the 550w I have four hard drives, a tv tuner card, video card, sound card, raid card. I dont see having any problems with this.

What is the consenous, go for it or not?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 10:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No I have been advised against it from someone who has worked with electrical systems for at least 25 years and someone who is kinda the same but now a network tech and used to handle computerized alarm systems (heh, now the alarms are all computerized)
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Just keep one PSU on fans/lights/leds, and one on the hardware, dont mix them with the hardware because its possible you could have a overload on one.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

personally I think it's pointless. If you have a good strong PSU to begin with no use trying to jerry rig a 2nd one in there.
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Im still trying to figure out how i would get my second one to fit my case....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

On top of the case above the otherone assuming the cables could reach
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

There very short cables, was planning on putting it beside my PCI slots and just cut the back of the case out, but nothing to cut it with and my modem would get in the way -.-
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 01:06 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Well I'll be TF's test guinipig on this one. I'll but some hardware on the second psu and let you know what happens. I dont see anything bad happening.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.