dual monitor set-up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2008, 12:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default dual monitor set-up

hey peoples

here i am again with a new question

right i have 2 monitors, 1 hdtv which is 26" with a native res of 1950x1080 and a small 17" tft (dont know the res) i have just set them up though the CCC so the desktop is on both screens (easyer then i thourght)

no i got to set a few more things on it and i'm a bit stuck

there is no task bar on the bottom of the second screen and i one there to be

one other thing is i'm looking at takeing this 26" hdtv around to a familey members house when they get there pc set up and they currently have a 28" monitor with res of 1920x1200

how would i set these 2 up so i can play a game full screen on both (which would just be cool)

i know she would love to have her new 28" and olg 17" monitors sat next to each other and i would love to see a game like crysis or gears of war super wide screen

and thanks for any help guys
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 01:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: dual monitor set-up

Not possible. The only way you could do it is to set it as span, which if i recall requires the resolutions to be identical.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 01:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: dual monitor set-up

i could use some custom resolutions to be identical

would it be posible then say the 26" screen at 1280x1024 and the 28" the same, would it be posible then
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 02:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: dual monitor set-up

UltraMon.

That will give you the taskbar on both monitors. It will also give you the option to have a dedicated wallpaprer for each screen and many other things.

But for the gaming you would have to go with dual view to get the game to be seen on both screens which would defeat the purpose of Ultramon.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 01:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: dual monitor set-up

Here is a great article section I found at Multi-Screens.com (A beginners introduction to Multiple Monitors)

The Three main ways to Setup Multiple Monitors

1) You can buy a pre-manufactured multiple monitor computer. The best place to purchase a multiple monitor computer is at:
SUPER-PC. They carry a multi-monitor computer line called SUPER-PC that can support from 2 to 12 monitors.

Multi-Screen Computer Systems

Multiple Monitor LCD Displays

2) You can get a USB to VGA Adapter, or USB to DVI Adapter that will allow you to add an extra monitor to your computer
via any USB2.0 Port. You can also add multiple extra monitors by using multiple adapters. This is a great option for viewing
documents, surfing the web, using Microsoft Office and many other business tasks. This is not a good option for intense
graphical situations such as HDTV, Blu-ray, Gaming and 3D / CAD Workstation applications. For those types of scenarios,
it is highly recommended that you purchase a high-powered multi-monitor workstation or a Matrox Dual or Triple Head2Go.

Multiple Monitor Adapters

3) You can replace or add an extra video card to your existing computer, depending on how many monitors you wish to support.
Although this sounds easy enough, this is a rather complex solution for a beginner, especially when trying to find a compatible
graphics card. For this reason, I am going to write an entirely seperate post on that topic and will link to it here, very soon.

Multi-Monitor Graphics Cards

Once you have your multiple monitor system set up and ready to use, you will need to enable all of your monitors in
your “Display Properties” Control Panel. Here is a great link to a complete and animated walkthrough of how to enable
your multiple monitors in Windows.

How to Setup Multiple Monitors (Instructions)

This is what it will look like when you are done:


techgeek276 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is dual better than quad, for non-PC gaming? Johnathan New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-27-2008 01:48 PM
PC locks up within 2-3 minutes after booting using Dual Channel memory. CPZ12 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 07-17-2008 04:09 AM
Dual Channel, Raid, and Raptor Hard Drives Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 14 10-23-2007 03:23 AM
Dual vs. Quad mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-20-2007 11:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.