Dual core AMD's due in 2005 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2005, 04:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Whoops! That's a mistake on my part, I just skimmed this thread, noticed the mention of Opterons, and assumed we were talking about dual processors, since I have heard different termology passed around.

Thanks for the clarification mates, hopefully I haven't mislead anyone.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 05:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The key thing to remember is dual 'core' and not dual socket
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Ok, i dident read everyones post, so maybe this was answered. But i honestly dont think they are going to be socket 939's. Those duals are going to be alot defferent, but besides that. I think they are going to make a different socet for that reason, but most of all, they probably would develope a better socket just for duals. Like a ideal socket for them. I hope i explaned it well, since im a little messed up sorry.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

According to the article, the 64s were designed to be dual-core from the get-go. It goes on to state the a BIOS update was all they used to get the demo to work in a current mobo.

I see the line of logic the Nubius is following, and I really hope that is where it leads. it would make more sense for AMD to follow along these lines in order to facilitate the market for the dual cores. If everyone had to buy a new mobo and memory to get one, it would slow the buying of them (except for early adopters who just HAVE to have it). I just wonder if a BIOS update would work for most mobos...sorta doubt it, though, as the throughput would be way more than most are designed for. Nice pipe dream, though.

I guess we all just gotta sit back and wait. Hmmm...just like with Microsloth...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 10:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I could hardly afford my new system with the socket 754, and a cheap 2800+... I don't think that ill ever be able to afford that kind of crap... I'm only 16
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 10:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

The price will come down...eventually.

Check out www.dailyrotation.com to keep up with the latest in the world of tech so you'll know when it does.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 10:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Kind of hard when you have a girl over ya all day, and when your computers HDD keeps screwing up...

But on a side note, if it comes close to $500 and i have a job i MIGHT buy the chip and a Motherboard that supports it.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 11:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Hey buddy im here w/ you but ive got this baby and i have a girlfriend to and im only 16. I just have a job, they are everywhere you just gotta let the girl go and rampage and ignore here to get a job. Dont be stupid like me and get pussy whiped but now i dont have a girlfriend for the time being so its off to frys for me!!! But yea man get a job and ignore her for a bit cause she will get over it and yes the prices will go down.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 11:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I can't realy ignore her... she is with me all the time, weve been together since i was 13..... and we both slept together at a very young age, considering she is 3 years younger than me...... but im not going to tell the whole story, but i can't get a job here because most of ours have been shipped to mexico or japan....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 12:10 AM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

ah well that sux. Ive only been w/ mone for 5 months and she is just now figuring out that she dosent have me wrapped around her little finger and im not a weekend boytoy. We just broke up tonight cause of this and she said she didnt want to be serious but i do and shes afraid of being committed and all this crap. Look no matter how long you been together theres always someone around the corner. But this isnt the thread for this and sorry ive jacked it lol. Back on to the topic.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.