Dual Core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Dual Core

I play BF2 alot and other games like this and was wondering if I should get the athlon 64 4800 x2 or the fx-57? Or will there be even better dual core athlon chips next year that I should save my money for? A combination of a dual core and fx chip would be awesome AMD amd would try as well.

On another note, I have a Diamond Viper x800gto and was wondering if someone could show me a site that tells me how to unlock the extra pipelines (if possible).
__________________

__________________
<a href=\" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153035\"> Power Supply</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071\"> Video Card</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127222\"> Motherboard</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575\"> Memory </a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829102188\"> Sound Card </a>
AMD 3800 x2 Socket 939
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136033\"> Upcoming Hard Drive </a>
TehBestEver is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Search.

Games are not programmed yet to utilize the 2 cores. If you get a dual core, the game will actually run on 1. FEAR is the only game out right now that utilizes both. However, the dual will be great for multitasking.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

I love my dual core while playing BF2, i can minimize so fast, and do something and then reopen BF2 and bam im still playing lol.

I would go with dual core right now. Defintely go with the X2 4400+ and OC it to 4800+ speeds without spending 800 dollars
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 05:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
I love my dual core while playing BF2, i can minimize so fast, and do something and then reopen BF2 and bam im still playing lol.

I would go with dual core right now. Defintely go with the X2 4400+ and OC it to 4800+ speeds without spending 800 dollars
exactly what i would do.. but the X2 4400+ is such a great chip i see no need to over clock it 200mhz to the X2 4800speed... yet.

The Fx-57 would perform better in %95 of all games out ATM but over the next year or so we will see the release of games that utilise the second core.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.