Dual Channel rams?

Status
Not open for further replies.

yexusbeliever

Baseband Member
I am really new to this whole self-building computer. So there is something that I just do not know.

What is dual channel rams? I can see that it is two rams. But can I work using one without the other? Or do I have to have both install in my motherboard to have one or the other working???

Dual channel memory is designed to work together,if you have a motherboard that supports dual channel memory one will not work without the other.

So you are saying that dual channel rams will require a compatibiliy from the motherboard? If it is not compatible meaning that the motherboard specifically has this capability, then it will not work without dual channel compatibility on the motherboard???

Dual channel memory is designed to work together,if you have a motherboard that supports dual channel memory one will not work without the other.
Dude what are you talking about, that's completely incorrect.

Yexus....RAM in itself is not dual channel. The packages only say 'Dual Channel' when it means they have been tested and guaranteed to run in dual channel.

Your motherboard and CPU has to support dual channel RAM, but that DOES NOT mean that when you see packages of RAM that says "Dual Channel" that it wont work in your board. Dual channel is an 'option' not a requirement.

All it means is your motherboard accesses both sticks at the same time rather than using one stick, filling it up, then using up the other. If your board uses DDR1 RAM, then all DDR1 RAM will work in it. Don't be thrown off because RAM says dual channel. Like I said it's only a feature that a motherboard CAN use, not one that it HAS to use

I aplogize for that,I was just stating what I have heard from school peers.Thank you for the clarification.

I figured if anything perhaps I was reading it wrong, but yeah....slap those people and tell them they don't know jack lol