Dual Channel Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2006, 05:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Default Dual Channel Ram

I am running a Biostar K8M800 micro atx socket 754 motherboard with 1gig of ram, 2 dimms of 512, and there are only 2 slots on the board, yet the memory is still running in single channel mode. I did not see anything in the bios about dual/single channel and I'm not completely familiar with how to configure ram very well. Am I missing something here? Any help would be appreciated.

brad211987 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 07:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

s754 does not support Dual Channel ram, only s939

AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 07:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

as pzero said there is no dual channel support for s754. at the time AMD were still having trouble smoothing out the glitches on the new on-die (on processor) memory controller and they just couldn't get it to work
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312

Don't worry, you're not missing out on much. Dual channel brings barely any speed boost. It's like the difference between SATA and SATA2 -- almost nothing.
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
MrCoffee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858

Originally posted by 003
Don't worry, you're not missing out on much. Dual channel brings barely any speed boost. It's like the difference between SATA and SATA2 -- almost nothing.
Umm ok the difference isn't massive if you're using lots of ram but believe me it does make a differene on my PC.
Intel core I7 920
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.