dual channel ram - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2004, 12:38 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120
Default

Sorry ICS, but you are the one who is wrong.
__________________

Jeffrock is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 04:23 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to stupidd
Default

I have a Gigabyte GA-7N400 Pro 2 and i can run dual channel with 2 memory sticks, 3 memory sticks, and 4 memory sticks.
__________________

stupidd is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 09:46 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

Yeah, no harm intended. This forum is here to educate. Remember for future reference to quote reliable sources. Just because some kid living with his parents, attending middle school writes something on a forum, which anyone can do, doesn't mean it's necessarily true. Try to quote whitepapers like MicroBell said, or quote a website such as ASUS, Microsoft, A-bit etc. Hope this has been a learning experience for everyone reading the thread. Cya around.
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 09:07 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

as far as in understand you cant have an odd number of ram slots occupied and run in dual channel. it has to be an even number and corresponding slots need to have identical ram modules for it to work.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 08:05 PM   #25 (permalink)
ICS
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 229
Send a message via AIM to ICS
Default

from my personal exp, i have know this to work. I am not wrong an neither are the people on those forums
__________________
AMD 64-Bit 3000+ @ 2.4 skt939
1GB PDR Patriot PC4200 Ram @ DDR535 Dual Channel
*STOCK CPU FAN* + *STOCK VOCORE*
ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe
X2 Chaintech 6600GT SLI (550/1200)
WD Raptor EP (4.5ms seek)
NEC Dual Format DVD-RW +/-
Thermaltake Tsunami
OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
ICS is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 10:37 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

No offense, but if your right, site some resources where this information is made public. You waste your time saying it's correct yet all you simply have to do is site a source and your point is made... We are all open minded here so if you do find proof that we are incorrect we won't be upset. Forums are made to help people, not confuse people, prove what your saying is correct and we can all walk away happy. Otherwise, admit you don't know what your talking about and leave it at that. Thanks.
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 12:52 PM   #27 (permalink)
ICS
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 229
Send a message via AIM to ICS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by crazybeans
No offense, but if your right, site some resources where this information is made public. You waste your time saying it's correct yet all you simply have to do is site a source and your point is made... We are all open minded here so if you do find proof that we are incorrect we won't be upset. Forums are made to help people, not confuse people, prove what your saying is correct and we can all walk away happy. Otherwise, admit you don't know what your talking about and leave it at that. Thanks.
do you know anything. I am trying to clear this up because people like you and a few others cant get it through your head that this is possible. I have done it. People I know have done it. I have built computers for people who have done it, and do you know what it says? DUAL CHANNEL MODE ENABLED. Maybe that means its not dual channel.... Maybe all the people who tried it on those other forums are also wrong. crazybeans, it must be a conspiracy right? wow, go back to beantown. you are sad

Quote:
Nforce2 and SiS are the only chipsets allowing 3 sticks to be run in dual-channel.
This is my basis for my desision:
Quote:
the first 2 are one channel and the long dimm slot is the second channel. so say you want 1gig of ram. put 2x256 in the first channel dimms 1 and 2 and put the 2x512 in the second channel, dimm 3. bam, you have duel channel.
keep in mind these all have to be the same kind of memory, just bigger in size.

Quote:
channel 1 and 2 are the same channel(thats y they tell you to use 1+3 or 2+3 )so if you had 256 in channel 1, 256 in channel 2, and 512 in channel 3 then you have dual channel,1gb total. i know this because on my previous rig (xp3000+ and asus a7n8x dlx) i ran 2x256 and 1x512 in the config that i said and post screen read "dual channel enabled" so it is right and not all mobos have 4 slots the asus had 3.
maybe... all these people are lying, yea thats it. Im trying to protect the nub here. Beans you qualify in this cat. Meaning lets start at the beginning.
__________________
AMD 64-Bit 3000+ @ 2.4 skt939
1GB PDR Patriot PC4200 Ram @ DDR535 Dual Channel
*STOCK CPU FAN* + *STOCK VOCORE*
ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe
X2 Chaintech 6600GT SLI (550/1200)
WD Raptor EP (4.5ms seek)
NEC Dual Format DVD-RW +/-
Thermaltake Tsunami
OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
ICS is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 01:05 PM   #28 (permalink)
ICS
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 229
Send a message via AIM to ICS
Default

This is called a motherboard.

The dimm slots are located in the upper right corner. Going from left to right, slot one, slot two, and slot 3. Not hard?
Heres how it works:

1. 256mb in slot 1, 256mb in slot 2 = single channel.

2. Slot 1, and 2 (yes add them), is one channel, and slot 3 is the other channel.

3. 256mb in slot 1, 256mb in slot 2, 512mb in slot 3 = dual channel.

4. The two channels have equal bandwidth, meaning they are in dual channel mode.

more quotes from people that have been successful...


Quote:
And I can confirm that the NF7-S runs dual channel with 2x256 & 1x512
I relate you to this woman serperoth here on this forum:
Forum

Again, a conspiracy?

Forum2

Im tired of bashing you. But listen up people, I am right. I will not be denied.
Quote:
Forums are made to help people, not confuse people, prove what your saying is correct and we can all walk away happy. Otherwise, admit you don't know what your talking about and leave it at that. Thanks.
I agree at the first part. Dont give conflicting facts, because I have proof. So lets walk away happy, and dont imply that I am stupid and dont know what the h377 i am doing. Oh yes thanks.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64-Bit 3000+ @ 2.4 skt939
1GB PDR Patriot PC4200 Ram @ DDR535 Dual Channel
*STOCK CPU FAN* + *STOCK VOCORE*
ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe
X2 Chaintech 6600GT SLI (550/1200)
WD Raptor EP (4.5ms seek)
NEC Dual Format DVD-RW +/-
Thermaltake Tsunami
OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
ICS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.