drivers wanted - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2005, 09:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Wink drivers wanted

i just built this comp for a friend of mine based upon the suggestions i received here. what sucks is, the only thing that came with drivers was the gfx card...wtf?

i can figure out some of the drivers but not all of em...

what im working with:

gigabyte GA-K8VT800M socket 754
athlon 64 3000+
sata WD800JD 80gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
AC'97 onboard sound
winXP
__________________

Effex is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Use this link:

http://tw.giga-byte.com/Motherboard/...A-K8VT800M.htm

It has the audio, chipset, LAN SATA RAID, and USB 2.0 drivers.

Here's the link for BIOS:

http://tw.giga-byte.com/Motherboard/...A-K8VT800M.htm
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 09:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

Try looking for your required drivers here: http://driverguide.com/ for 1-stop-downloading.

BUT, if it where me, I would go to the individual device manufacturerÂ’s websites and go to their support and drivers section and get the drivers I need that way (WAY MORE RELIABLE)
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default

thanks for breaking down like that trotter. however, i cant get the links to work
Effex is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 11:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

???

The first link (http://tw.giga-byte.com/Motherboard/...A-K8VT800M.htm) links to a page that has links to the downloads of the drivers.

The second one (http://tw.giga-byte.com/Motherboard/...A-K8VT800M.htm) links to a page with links to the BIOS downloads.

They work for me.

Strange...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 11:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Very true, Seria. The manufactuer is always the best place to acquire drivers, period.

But driverguide is there for when that doesn't work... which is more often that I'd like to admit.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 11:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default

i just went to gigabytes website. it has chipset, audio, LAN, SATA RAID and USB 2.0.

the chipset says that it is a 4in1. does this mean it is audio, LAN, SATA RAID and USB 2.0?

this is probably basic information in which i feel like i already know the answer but i just want to make sure because this is the first time i have had to load up a comp w/out pre-packaged drivers

i was also wondering if there is a certain way i need burn the files to a CD or floppy

lastly, i was wondering if the BIOS drivers is something different than the chipset

lots of ignorance here hehe
Effex is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 11:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

4in1 refers to the VIA chipset, I do believe. These are the main chipsets that 'drive' the board.

The audio, LAN, SATA RAID and USB 2.0 are all seperate drivers, and must be downloaded seperately.

To install a RAID array, you'll have to install the drivers before you install anything else. Do a search on this forum for the steps involved, as I remember a thread about it not very long ago.

Quote:
i was also wondering if there is a certain way i need burn the files to a CD or floppy
BIOS first, then RAID (see above). Then go with the chipset, LAN, audio, and USB.

Quote:
lastly, i was wondering if the BIOS drivers is something different than the chipset
Totally different animal. Think of the BIOS as the underlying structure that Windows operates on. Windows moves the data, but BIOS moves the hardware. It also checks all of the hardware at boot-up.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 11:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default

thats alot of help

but when i put the files on disk do i need to burn them or format a CD then copy them over. basically does it have it have a certain format?

i dont need SATA RAID driver if i only have one SATA drive correct?
Effex is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Just burn them. As long as the CD drive in the new computer can read a burned CD (meaning you didn't salvage it from a dinosaur), you'll be fine.

Once you fire up the comp, go into BIOS and set it to boot from CD. Boot with your Windows disk to install WIndows, then put in the CD with the drivers and install them through Windows.

If you're only running one SATA, then you don't need the RAID drivers. But if you want to have RAID, you gotta do it when you first start, or you have to redo it all over.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.