Dremel or Waterblock? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2005, 10:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Dremel or Waterblock?

So should I buy a Dremel set, or a waterblock for my 6600GT? Money is not the deciding factor here. I want to start case mods, and I need a dremel, but I also need a waterblock, but cannot afford to buy them both right now. Which?

The DangerDen Maze4, or a Dremel brand 400 Multi speed dremel?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 10:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Just get the maze 4,Modding can wait till later
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 10:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

See, but this is kind of a catch 22 for me. I need the water block to complete my loop, but I need the Dremel to cut the space so I can fit my radiator in my case. It is a vicious cycle!
Him is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 10:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

In that case just go out and buy a cheap Dremel knock off,That way there you save some money so you can get the Maze 4 sooner
Shumway is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 10:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

No get a real tool, not some fake piece of junk. You may as well get the dremel if you can't use the waterblock without one.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 10:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Thats what I was thinking of doing, but I wasnt sure. I learned, the hard way, to never cheap out on ANYTHING that you need to stay around for a while. It's like a Leatherman. There are lots of Leatherman knock off's, and they all suck and break and loosen and dont work, but there is only one REAL leatherman. I certainly am not going to get a knock off, thats not happening.
Him is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

Well sounds like you need to get the Dremel first. Get the dremel and just use stock cooling on your GPU for a while.
__________________

__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.