DRAM Frequency? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2007, 01:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default DRAM Frequency?

What is the DRAM Frequency? Just wondering since in my CMOS, it has an option of 4 settings: Auto - 333MHz - 400MHz - 533MHz. If I change it, what would happen? Is that the setting to change the clock timing for the RAM?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 01:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DRAM Frequency?

This corresponds to DDRX-XXX. go figure
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 01:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: DRAM Frequency?

DDR2-667. But what are those settings for?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 01:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DRAM Frequency?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
DDR2-667. But what are those settings for?
They're for setting the motherboard to use one specific type of ram.

BTW, your sig is suffering from SEVERE compression. Use GIF.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 01:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: DRAM Frequency?

Compression? I'm using PNG. Artifacts you mean? Looks fine with my computer.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 01:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DRAM Frequency?

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 06:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: DRAM Frequency?

The different settings are so you can change the speed at which your RAM runs at. Useful for overclocking when you need to turn down the RAM a bit. If you're not overclocking just use AUTO.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory frequency in bios cntstopthecrooks Overclocking and Modding 5 08-08-2007 04:21 PM
Memory frequency wrong Mike9182 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-14-2007 04:40 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Setting up ram Fastvan67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 11:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.