dont know how to overclock - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2008, 12:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: dont know how to overclock

those are auto ram timings, its fine because it wont kill you, you can manually readjust it but remember to set the voltage accordingly
i suggest 2.1 v to keep 5-5-5-15 happy at that frequency
__________________

__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 01:04 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: dont know how to overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
those are auto ram timings, its fine because it wont kill you, you can manually readjust it but remember to set the voltage accordingly
i suggest 2.1 v to keep 5-5-5-15 happy at that frequency
Set the RAm voltage to whatever the manufacture states for it's rated speed. You can increase or decrease it from there dependant upon the speed you run it.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 02:40 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: dont know how to overclock

k cool
FLAMINFIRE is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 05:31 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Default Re: dont know how to overclock

edit: never mind found it out
__________________
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/f...g?t=1189246651
Core 2 Duo E6550 is OC @ 450mhz x7 1800 rated FSB
Memory timings @ 4-4-4-12 450mhz x2 1:1
GeForce 8600GT OC @ 680mhz 850mhz
CPonder14 is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 04:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: dont know how to overclock

ok its stable at 2.8, now how do i get it at at least 3.0
FLAMINFIRE is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 04:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: dont know how to overclock

now we start discussing voltages and whatnot, to get to 3.0ghz try out a 429mhz FSB
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 05:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: dont know how to overclock

if i change the fsb to 429 do i need to change anything else? or do i test to see if its stable first? and do i need an aftermarket cpu cooler since im using stock?
FLAMINFIRE is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 06:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: dont know how to overclock

Download a program called CoreTemp and let us know what temperatures it is reporting at your current clock speed of 2.8 while you have it working on something like prime95, orthos, etc; and from there we should be able to determine if you can safely go to 3.0 on that stock cooler.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 06:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: dont know how to overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLAMINFIRE View Post
if i change the fsb to 429 do i need to change anything else? or do i test to see if its stable first? and do i need an aftermarket cpu cooler since im using stock?
ur using stock cooler?? I'd say 2.8ghz is a good place to stop then, because then you have to start worrying about temperatures and what not...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 07:28 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: dont know how to overclock

k ill stop until i buy a cooler
__________________

FLAMINFIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why I Overclock QuaziBee Overclocking and Modding 10 08-22-2007 11:15 PM
Safe overclock speed? Haoming Overclocking and Modding 6 08-01-2007 12:20 AM
wanting to overclock my E6420 Snake64_009 Overclocking and Modding 12 07-16-2007 03:43 AM
ATi x1950xt overclock....? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-14-2007 03:13 PM
First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!! mvpo.geo Overclocking and Modding 10 04-13-2007 08:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.