Does RAID0 affect 3DMark06 scores? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2008, 03:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Does RAID0 affect 3DMark06 scores?

As the title says, does it? Just curious, but am really just looking for an excuse to buy a second HD and start experimenting with RAID now.
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 11:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Does RAID0 affect 3DMark06 scores?

Nope not at all. In my opinion RAID 0 is more trouble than its worth since newer larger drives are out and perform quite well (Samsung F1 series, WD 640gb, etc)

Load times will of course decrease and if your computer accesses the swap file a lot of course that will speed up, but you'll notice more of a difference by getting more physical memory.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 11:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Does RAID0 affect 3DMark06 scores?

RAID 0 won't help 3dmark. But why base buying a drive on a non-reallife factor. Base it on storage and speed.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 08:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Does RAID0 affect 3DMark06 scores?

my old western digital raptor totally up'd my 3dmark 2,351 points


__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Does RAID0 affect 3DMark06 scores?

K thanks, I'm shopping for an HD camcorder right now so need additional storage anyways. Was figuring on pickup up a 500GB Barricuda and trying RAID for a while before I switched it over to an external HD.
jfenwick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does software affect 3DMark scores? jfenwick Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-13-2008 04:20 PM
Post 3Dmark06 scores in the official thread Trotter Overclocking and Modding 0 11-09-2007 05:03 PM
Very low 3Dmark06 scores for 8800 GTS the_vdende Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 09-23-2007 05:05 PM
my 3dmark06 scores suck for my rig? Sirius_GTO PC Gaming 16 09-05-2007 03:18 AM
My 3dmark06 scores seem to be pretty disappointing Sirius_GTO New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-03-2007 08:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.