Does This Make any Sense? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2007, 01:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Does This Make any Sense?

I'm overclocking, and I notice when I input "1140" it drops my ram speed from 560, to 534, and when I try and reenter a speed value for ram, it won't change it.

P5NSLI

C2D E6420
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 02:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Does This Make any Sense?

I got a P5B-Deluxe, they have pre-setted RAM timing on mine dunno about yours....
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 06:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Does This Make any Sense?

There's probably a FSB:RAM divider.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 01:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Does This Make any Sense?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
There's probably a FSB:RAM divider.
Well this also makes my system unstable. Is this what I get for using 570 chipset?
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Does This Make any Sense?

Is this the P5N-E SLI? How come you mentioned the 570 chipset? That chipset, is for AMD boards.

Anyway, yea...I know what you're saying, because we have similar motherboards. It has something to do with the multipliers. To make it simple, try to make both of them equal. So if the FSB is at 1140 or 285 (1140 divided by 4), than the RAM should be at 285 or 570 (285 x 2).
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 02:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Does This Make any Sense?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Is this the P5N-E SLI? How come you mentioned the 570 chipset? That chipset, is for AMD boards.

Anyway, yea...I know what you're saying, because we have similar motherboards. It has something to do with the multipliers. To make it simple, try to make both of them equal. So if the FSB is at 1140 or 285 (1140 divided by 4), than the RAM should be at 285 or 570 (285 x 2).
P5NSLI, is the 570.

I cant change the value of the ram, it wont allow me. I type in 570 for the value, but when I boot back in it is still the lower number.

But this is my first build, and it works fine, so if I cant overclock more, I guess that will be fine.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 02:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Does This Make any Sense?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel
P5NSLI, is the 570.
ahh...I didn't know that. I was thinking of it, being related to my P5N-E SLI, which is the 650i.

Are you overclocking unlinked or linked?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 03:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Does This Make any Sense?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post

Are you overclocking unlinked or linked?
I dont know what unlinked or linked is. Im doing it form the BIOS.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 03:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Does This Make any Sense?

Oh sorry....referring to the P5N-E again.

OK theres a way to set the FSB and RAM speed manually. To do this, go to the Advanced section, then JumperFree Configuration, then set the AI Tuning to AI Overclock. Set the System Clock Mode to CPU/MEM manual-mode, and you should be able to set the FSB to 1140, and the RAM to 570, for a 1:1 ratio.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 06:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Does This Make any Sense?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Oh sorry....referring to the P5N-E again.

OK theres a way to set the FSB and RAM speed manually. To do this, go to the Advanced section, then JumperFree Configuration, then set the AI Tuning to AI Overclock. Set the System Clock Mode to CPU/MEM manual-mode, and you should be able to set the FSB to 1140, and the RAM to 570, for a 1:1 ratio.
That is what I have been doing, but the BIOS wont change the ram. I type in a number for memory speeds, but it won't change.
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make an AVI Smaller sir nerdalot Computer Audio and Multimedia 14 05-31-2007 08:27 AM
what would make more sense? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-22-2007 05:32 AM
Nero 6 to make VCD sir nerdalot Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 05-21-2007 04:42 AM
Bots make me angry mssssee2 Off Topic Discussion 11 04-15-2007 01:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.