Does this look like too much Thermal Paste??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2007, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Does this look like too much Thermal Paste???

I came to the conclusion that my tuniq wasn't cooling to my satisfaction

So i think i had to much MX-1 on it.

These are the best pics i could get, my camera sux.


__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Does this look like too much Thermal Paste???

Looks ok but are you sure the heatplate is making full contact?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Does this look like too much Thermal Paste???

its tightened down as far as the screws will allow.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Does this look like too much Thermal Paste???

hm. i re-applied the MX-1 like the AS5 says to (in a straight line across the CPU) instead of the pea size in the middle....its already running cooler

im back to my 3.2Ghz settings maybe i will finally be able to get 3.7Ghz stable.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Does this look like too much Thermal Paste???

I guess the old pea size doesn't work anymore. Did you do a line across the whole surface of the CPU?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Does this look like too much Thermal Paste???

yep

bad thing is though i gotta wait ~3 days for it to cure for reasonable temps.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Does this look like too much Thermal Paste???

for best results supposedly you put a line dpwn the center of quads and a rice/pea/bb/wtf ever you want to call it for other (single/dual core) cpus.
and yeah, see how it is running off the side of the cpu heatspreader? that = too much. you probably need about half that much mgcook. i know it doesnt look like a lot when its just chillin there (b4 you put the hsf on), but it will spread out, as you can see. you dont need very much.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: Does this look like too much Thermal Paste???

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
for best results supposedly you put a line dpwn the center of quads and a rice/pea/bb/wtf ever you want to call it for other (single/dual core) cpus.
and yeah, see how it is running off the side of the cpu heatspreader? that = too much. you probably need about half that much mgcook. i know it doesnt look like a lot when its just chillin there (b4 you put the hsf on), but it will spread out, as you can see. you dont need very much.
Ditto.
__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Does this look like too much Thermal Paste???

right, i put a very thin line down the middle of the cpu. so hopefully this works better than previously.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 03:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Does this look like too much Thermal Paste???

Personally I find easiest way is to put a small amount in the middle of the CPU, then seat the HSF slowly while twisting it from side to side just a bit. I've found this way automatically spreads it out evenly and eliminates air pockets.

I've tried the credit card method and smoothing it out with my finger wrapped in cellophane, but it just never seats correctly unless I do it my way
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tuniq Tower and Thermal Paste MacDaddyGator New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-01-2007 12:01 AM
How often should I change the Thermal Paste? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-28-2007 06:20 AM
Removing Thermal Paste? phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 10 08-05-2007 03:01 AM
Read if you don't know much about thermal paste. QuaziBee Overclocking and Modding 1 08-02-2007 02:09 AM
cpu thermal paste... advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 06-29-2007 11:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.