does anybody underclock for cooling? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2004, 08:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
jseber1982's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982

nubius.. befor i underclocked it, it stayed around 125F at max load, while underclocked it is usually aroun 90-95F at max, idle was at about 110, now idle is around 85F while underclocked

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 05:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 47

Yeah, why don't you turn your computer off, lets it rest, lol. Besides it cant get spyware or viruses, hackers if its off. And windows needs to be restarted everyday, to run at optimum proformance.

AMD Athalon Xp 2200+ 1.8Ghz|
256mbs of Kensington DDR-SDRAM|
15\" LCD|Loghitech Wireless mouse|
White Box Case|75GB+30GB HD

Sig and Avatar by mac_mogul
foxdii is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 08:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 105

so raising the v core can damage you video card? even with cooling?
armyofswiss is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

About the only time that i have underclock was because the motherboard was not going to support the CPU at proper speed.
Eg. I got a Duron 1300 that I have to under clock to 1000 just so it could boot from my older motherboard. Slower speed, but it beat throwing out working parts.

If cooling was a issue, then I would installing some case fans or replacing the HSF.

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

Ha, I can't leave my computer on. My roomate 'female dogs' at me cause the lights and fans were keeping him up... what a load of dung...


<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource:
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker

Um, simply overclocking DOES affect the temps as far as I know (when I underclock, my temps go pretty low, and I don't change the voltage).

Also, anyone heard of Cool'n'Quiet?
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default Me too

I downclocked a 1.7ghz to 800mhz to use it in a media center where watercooling wasn't feasible. Same thing, only hear HDD and PSU noise.

but as far as noise goes, ask anyone who owns a geForce 5800 - oh wait they cant hear you anyways, nevermind.
mfa is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 07:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765

YEah if its that big of a deal, enable Cool N Quiet in BIOS
septoid2 is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 07:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 46

lol... i dont know how someone could halve the speed of a 3000+ A64 to like 900mhz or 1.0ghz while they were trying to game.

I did some testing on one of my other systems where the cpu multiplier will actually apply itself. At 1ghz with an x700pro at default speed, that thing got torn up in sandra by a 100MHz FSB P3 @ 950mhz.

'nough said
Panther is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 07:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

Voltage is the primary factor affecting system temperatures, as increasing voltage is increasing resistance and thus overall heat output

Dunno why this was brought back though as it's about a year old

Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.