Does a amd 3000 match a 3.2 P4? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2005, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to Zeeg
Default Does a amd 3000 match a 3.2 P4?

Hmm?
__________________

__________________
http://img36.exs.cx/img36/2732/zeeg0kq.gif

My (Dell) PC
Intel
Zeeg is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

depends at what? for gaming itll be better than the p4, but for video and media stuff the p4 will be better. in general desktop and word processing the p4 is better.
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to Zeeg
Default

I'm going for gaming. But, you think it will be better for gaming?
__________________
http://img36.exs.cx/img36/2732/zeeg0kq.gif

My (Dell) PC
Intel
Zeeg is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

No, but the AMD 3200 does.

The AMD naming convention was to help people compare their chips to P4's, since AMD and Pentiums don't really compare at all. They're completely different kinds of chips.

A 3200 is comparable to a 3.2 P4
A 3000 is comparable to a 3.0 P4

and so on and so forth...
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to Zeeg
Default

ok thanks. Because the 3000 is alot cheaper, but oh well.
__________________
http://img36.exs.cx/img36/2732/zeeg0kq.gif

My (Dell) PC
Intel
Zeeg is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Umm haha AJ, NO. That pentium will own that 3000+ in gaming too.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The pentium is more expensive though, so why not get a 3200.

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...c_Cooling.html
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Umm haha, no an AMD 3000+ will own a 3.2ghz p4 in gaming.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Oh bloody hell...DON"T START AN AMDvsPENTIUM ARGUMENT IN HERE!!!

Wants I should smack you both? Come on, you should know better! You almost started a fire!
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 05:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Dont provide wrong information here.

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
Umm haha AJ, NO. That pentium will own that 3000+ in gaming too.
The AMD 3000+ will out preform an intel 3.0ghz. Why not just buy the 3000+ and over clock it to 3200+ speeds? Its not that much and stock or cheap after market cooling can handle that. I have the 3200+ and have pushed it up 200mhz, but set it back down, because I dont need to oc, nothing that I use is that demanding.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.