do not belive - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2005, 04:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by matt2m
his mobo is a nForce4 SLI I do not know the ram and sorry it is the 3500+ i don't think that makes a difference.Also he said he got it to
windows.
Their's a decent chance of a 3500+ doing that with alot of voltage, but it will overheat pretty soon
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 05:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Keep in mind his neighbour may have a 3400+ 64-M and he may have just gotten a bit of luck and managed to boot into Windows without raising the vcore very much.

Highly unlikely, but not impossible, some chips have more headroom than others.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 06:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

The biggest issue here is stock cooling. Its impossible for a 800mhz increase on stock cooling. With my cooling system, the most i would be able to push would be 500mhz increase. Which i have 5 120mm fans, and an aftermarket heatsink, along with a tornado cpu fan.

Yes clawhammers run hotter, but you must consider my cooling system. Even with my hot 4000 and my cooling system, my temperatures are better then winchesters on stock cooling. I honestly dont believe this at all.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 12:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,304
Default

i could never get my 3500wini up that high and i even had an AquariusIII w/ 1/2" tubing. and i had a seperate pump for the GPU so it was all on th cpu man. yea your neighbor is ****tin you man,
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 04-30-2005, 11:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
The biggest issue here is stock cooling. Its impossible for a 800mhz increase on stock cooling. With my cooling system, the most i would be able to push would be 500mhz increase. Which i have 5 120mm fans, and an aftermarket heatsink, along with a tornado cpu fan.

Yes clawhammers run hotter, but you must consider my cooling system. Even with my hot 4000 and my cooling system, my temperatures are better then winchesters on stock cooling. I honestly dont believe this at all.
You just placed the Tornado 84.1CFM fan on your heatsink? Wow.. it must sound like an aircraft carrier whenever your comptuer's on... how do you stand it?
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 03:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

his case has a ton of fans and 2 of them are blowing directly on the heat sink and a exaust fan is close to it and there is a fan in the front
blowing cool air in.The room temp is high 60s low 70s.I read that room temp plays a role in cooling unless you use pleater cooling i think.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 04:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I read that room temp plays a role in cooling unless you use pleater cooling i think.
Well yeah room temp plays a role, that would basically have an effect on how cold the air going into the case is.

and what's a pleater?

You mean peltier?
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 05:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

sorry thats it
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.