Do my temps seem high? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2011, 04:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default Do my temps seem high?

My friend said my temps seem high, i just wanted some input

If you can't see in the picture i'll list some of the settings.

Vcore - 1.368v ( i know this is high, i can actually get a stable 4.4 out of it but, i'm just testing things)
Core Speed - 4141.0 MHz
Memory Freq. 1800 MHz
Revision - D0
Stepping - 5

Cooling is from a XSPC Rasa 750 CPU Water Cooling Kit, from Frozencpu. With Push / Pull fan config.
I have reset the water block a few times in the past with AS5, TX-2, and the stuff that came with it. Only difference is the crap that came with it sucks, but the TX-2 & AS5 held the same temps every time.

Ambient Temp --------------------------- 21
Max Temps after 8 mins of prime on blend - 75 73 69 69
Delta temps ----------------------------- 54 52 48 48

Boot temps are - 38 36 35 33 if that helps.

__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Do my temps seem high?

That's about as high as you'd want it to go, but it's not dangerous or anything.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 05:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Do my temps seem high?

8 minutes isn't long enough to actually judge your temperatures. Run Prime95 for at least an hour.

But my initial impression would be that your probably using to much thermal paste or your radiator fans just aren't moving enough air. With a triple radiator your temps should be a lot cooler, my old i7 920 @ 4.2 GHz ran in the low 70dC range (75dF or 23.8dC ambient) at 100% load with air cooling.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 05:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default Re: Do my temps seem high?

I've tried with a really small amount of TP, like...when i took it off it spread about the size of a dime and it was the same temp as when i do the normal grain of dry rice amount.

Also, it is only a dual 120mm radiator not that it would make a huge difference

And i do have some quiet fans in there, they are not great. but i don't feel ANY heat coming from the top. It's almost 'cool' feeling.
__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default Re: Do my temps seem high?

I'm going to try to reapply it, i'll try and post pix of how much, so you can tell me wtf i'm doing wrong hehe
__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 05:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Do my temps seem high?

When you pull your block off there should be a thin layer (thin enough to see through) of thermal paste covering the heatspreader. If you see any spots where the paste is to thick to see through then you have to much (you might need to check the heatspreader for flatness) paste applied. I highly recommend throwing the Arctic Silver 5 in the trash. It's never been a good paste for water cooling as it's just to thick. Water cooled CPU's generally never reach the same temps as air cooled CPU's. Which means a thick paste never gets to the viscosity needed to spread as well as it should.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 06:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default Re: Do my temps seem high?

Well i pulled it off and, wow, i have no idea how i put this much on, it's almost embarrassing. I only had some AS5 laying around as my TX is at my friends house. But i did have a **** load on there

I cleaned everything really well with 99% Iso Alc and reapplyed the Artic **** 5 and booted up, now my room temp is 3 hotter and low and behold the temps seemed lower. So i booted up Prime95 for around the same time and it never broke 70

Hopefully the AS5 sets and i get it a little lower, it should work till i can get my TX-2 back from my buddy.

Some pics of my fail

Fail #1


Fail #2


Clean #1


Clean #2


Is this to much? Let me know
__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Do my temps seem high?

I would replace the paste with some TX-2 as soon as possible. You should also look for a couple good Hi-Speed fans and a controller so you can get the maximum flow per acceptable noise level. Running at 4GHz - 4.1GHz I would expect temps in the low 60's. Right now I would advise you to keep the speed to no more than 4.2GHz as it's only going to get hotter in the coming months.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default Re: Do my temps seem high?

Will do, Thanks SM
__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 11:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Do my temps seem high?

What strikes me is that paste never spread out evenly, at all... I have used AS5 for years now, and have never seen it spread in such a horrible way in my setup, and mine was water cooled till here very recently.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are my temps high? SirBriaNx Cooling 23 08-25-2010 05:14 PM
cpu temps high? ChrisG23 New Systems | Building and Buying 32 07-13-2010 07:34 PM
Temps ok? Seem high... Raphael Argus Overclocking and Modding 9 10-26-2007 07:26 PM
Temps too high? reggie_da_man Overclocking and Modding 6 07-20-2005 11:02 PM
Are these high temps? crazlunatic Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 36 02-20-2005 05:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.