do know anything bout computers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2006, 01:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default do know anything bout computers

if u know how to tweak a pc to give it more ram, cpu, memory, or just make it faster please tell me...but make sure that it wont screw up my pc...sooo please post some tweaking instructions only if u know wat ur talkin about...thanks.....
__________________

Assassin57 is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Ok

Step one
Ok take your computer place it on the lawn
Step two
Get your hose.
Step three
Spray water lightley over the case and around so it gets nice and cool and cleans it out
Step four
Now open the side panel and let er rip! make sure you get it nice and shiney clean!


After that you should have a big performance gain as Im guess components are overheating and burning out.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default

ya.....haha ur real funny
Assassin57 is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Assassin57
ya.....haha ur real funny

yeah he is but hardly believe he was trying to be ,

great instructions there AnthraX
Yoad is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 02:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Thank you YOAD, nice to see someone who appreciates good humor

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 02:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX

After that you should have a big performance gain as Im guess components are overheating and burning out.
Sad thing is that, what you said is probably true

Sorry Assasin but if you come to tech forums asking such a silly question without even researching or even looking through our threads, thats the kind of replies you will get.

I would advise that you post your PC specs so we could laugh at them and tell you to get a conroe...
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 02:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

and I dont mean to double posts So I am sorry but I must.


Assassin.........how can I give you more memory (physical) when I dont even know what type it is? SDRAM, RamBus?, DDR?, DDR2? XDR?...how can I give you more cpu (physical) when I dont know what socket it is, what memory type it needs, and if I can even help you out.


Memory is not is a physical thing. You cant just "make" more

CPU speed is not is a physical thing. You cant just "make" more
Same goes for cpu. You can make it faster, but you cant make more of it and I cant "give it" to you.

for those who didnt catch on, I was kidding about xdr
All Im trying to say is we cant just make it super fast becuase how would companys make money on components when you could just make it super fast your self. Now I know some other people are going to be like what about Overclocking and Memory tweaking and windows XP tweaking. As far as Im concerned hes talking about just making it downright faster.

Im assuming your on a pentium 3/4 of some sort and you have a **** load of viruses and spyware and its slowing you down to the point of no return..


But im in a good mood So im going to help you

we all need to know what your specs are...if your not sure thats ok

If your not sure where to look download CPU-z and just give me the name of your processor......


also if its a prebuilt wich im suspecting it is, whats the company name....


were going to need all this info to make somthing happen


////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////


Quote:
Originally posted by RockyZ
Sorry Assasin but if you come to tech forums asking such a silly question without even researching or even looking through our threads, thats the kind of replies you will get.

I would advise that you post your PC specs so we could laugh at them and tell you to get a conroe...

hahaha exactly......His question was so broad that I thought My older brother was stoned and signed up to these forums....


Yeah screw evreything else just get conroe ...hahaha
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 03:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Anthrax, i followed your instructions, and my computer works fantastic!

In all reality, Assassin, in Anthrax's most recent post, he's right. You need to specify your computer components before asking "how can i make it faster?"
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 03:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

you could probably answers all your own questions by spending 20mins going through the whole forum
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 09:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I think we all scared him away he hasnt replied.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.