Do I really need 8 pins PCI for X2900XT? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2007, 11:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Default Do I really need 8 pins PCI for X2900XT?

I really concern about this problem....
Is there any 6->8 pins PCI converter? and where can i buy it? or can i mod it safety?
Thanks for helping..
__________________

anthegreat is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Do I really need 8 pins PCI for X2900XT?

Look at NosBoost thread paper clip is your answer
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 01:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Do I really need 8 pins PCI for X2900XT?

The last two pins are grounds required to overclock with CCC. You can overclock just fine without an 8-pin connector using ATITool or RivaTuner
__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 01:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Do I really need 8 pins PCI for X2900XT?

Can you adjust the voltages with software with this card?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 01:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Do I really need 8 pins PCI for X2900XT?

Not that I've seen.
__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 01:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Do I really need 8 pins PCI for X2900XT?

ati tool can adjust the voltages.. but there's a trick to getting it to work.. you hvae to set your clock first. then adjust the voltage and apply.. other wise, the setting will reset if you do voltage then clock... ya its retarded...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 03:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Do I really need 8 pins PCI for X2900XT?

nice, i'm really wanting a 2900 pro
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 01:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Do I really need 8 pins PCI for X2900XT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
nice, i'm really wanting a 2900 pro
what happened to your 8800gts!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 03:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Do I really need 8 pins PCI for X2900XT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
what happened to your 8800gts!
it died a horrible death
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pci slot help rebell07 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-29-2007 02:45 AM
Second PCI card no detected in Windows khairilthegreat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-22-2007 01:46 PM
Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot? UsernameTaken Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 09-09-2007 09:42 PM
PCI Slot Case Cooler CPonder14 Overclocking and Modding 2 09-05-2007 03:54 PM
shorting power switch pins cristo33 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-03-2007 12:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.