Do I have a temperature problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2004, 10:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Question Do I have a temperature problem?

Hi, I built my computer over spring break and I'm concerned about the temp readings asus probe is giving me.

cpu: Intel P4 2.8E
mobo: asus p4p800

At idle the temps are about
cpu: 41C (105F)
mobo: 31C (87F)

When I'm doing something like playing Starcraft, the temps are about
cpu: 53C (127F)
mobo: 33C (91F)

bios gives me around
44C
28C

I'm not sure if the cpu fan is fully in because 2 side levers can be moved a little bit. Asus probe is saying that the cpu fan is moving at
2360 - 2596
sadly my case fan is more stable than that(2576)
__________________

Richard is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 10:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

im gonna say u have a slight problem. My idle used to be around like 95F and when i played a game it would get up to like 115-120F. But since i got this water cooling, now it idles at 75.
__________________

__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 11:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to Tetsusaiga
Default

starcraft??? that cant do too much to your temps it doesnt have very good graphics or anything that needs alot of processing power.

thats very wierd.



i just got starcraft tonight for $8.00 at media play, coincedense
__________________
Specs:
P4 3.2ghz @ 3864mhz
1024mb RAM pc2700
2x 120gb maxtor HD
Asus P4P800-S
Albatron nVIDIA GeForce 6800 256mb
19” SENergy 981 TFT LCD (got it for $500 from my dad\'s work, RETAIL: $880:cool: )
Altec Lansing 5.1 speakers
MOBO upgrade coming soon
Dim Tetsusaiga as Integer
Tetsusaiga is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

53 is a teeny-bit higher than you might want, but I wouldn't worry about it, as long as that is the absolute highest it goes.
You can always buy an aftermarket heatsink/fan which should solver your problem.
Even if you don't, try sanding the heatsink for more contact with the CPU, and apply some Arctic Silver 5.

Arctic Silver Application Instructions
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 09:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

yea buy a thermaltake fan or somthing. There the best when it comes to CPU fans.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 12:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default

well it actually went up to 55 playing sc
i'll look into getting a new fan after i get new case fans
they are kind of weak for a 2.8ghz machine (one doesnt even work)
ill going to try a thermaltake smart casefan 2 first cause it could be just an air circulation problem
Richard is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 08:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

o ok i just saw what u said about it not being in all the way... I had that problem. What u do is, leave the computer running, try and push it in on the sides and see if the temp goes down on the temp gauge. If it does then there u go. If somthing broke on it or somthing, use zip ties to hold it down. Thats what i did.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 08:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default

thanks monster, ill give that a try later on after i finish some stuff
Richard is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 08:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

uh anything bellow 60 is perfect. A core melts at 85 and has a shut down thing at 75 where it shuts down. Micro says up to 65 is good where i say anything above 60 is very bad but 53 is very good
XT is offline  
Old 03-30-2004, 10:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to Dutch
Default

My asus hit 43.5 c...thats the highest it gets when im playing games.
__________________

Dutch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.