DMA to ATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2005, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Default DMA to ATA

I am attempting to breathe life back into my sisters computer. The mobo is a MSI K7T Turbo Ver 3. (No Raid)
http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...ition&class=mb

I want to upgrade from a Duron 750 to a Athlon XP 1600+ and install a 100 or 133 mhz Ultra ATA HD.
From all the research I have done it appears that this board will only accept a DMA HD. I have researched all the bios recoveries on the MSI website and only the 3.1 version even mentions the words "ATA" but I'm not sure it's what I need. I flashed it to Ver 3.5 but still won't recognize an ATA HD. Is there a bios flash to allow an ATA HD to work or will I need a controller card? Does the latest bios update cover all the previous ones too or do I need one specifically for the ATA problem?
__________________

davebee123 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 12:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Try a 66 or 100 drive, the mobo doesn't support 133,

can you post a link to the drive?

It has to be an Ultra DMA 33/66 or 100 drive.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 12:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Well the drive I am trying to install is a Maxtor 541DX 20GB Ultra ATA 100. Just a piece of crap I have laying around that I thought she could get some use out of. So even a controller card is hopeless to get ATA 100 or 133? Thanks
davebee123 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 12:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Well, it says it will accept Ultra DMA 100, but you said its not seeing it,

what have you tried doing?

Reformating it?


Seeing it from CMOS setup?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 12:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Default

The ATA HD has Win 98 installed on it and was working when it was pulled. I plugged it in and when it boots up it you can see it recognizes it and names it WD....... then it gives me options to start windows normally, safe mode etc. I start normally and the status bar starts loading and it freezes. When I go into the bios setup it doesn't show it. Is it because it is an ATA HD?
davebee123 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 12:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

You can't simply take a harddrive from another computer, plug it in and expect it to boot.


Im not sure if you can run a repair with 98, but if it had XP on it, I would tell you to run a repair so the BIOS could recongize it, since it wasn't formated and installed on that computer.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 12:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the hard drive works, but the OS doesn't. you need to reinstall Windows.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 12:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Wow I didn't know that. That's what I get for assuming LOL
So what if I load XP on it from the old comp and then run a repair from the new computer? Or better yet can I format it and then install it?
__________________

davebee123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.