divisor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2006, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default divisor?

reference clock x multiplier = processor/memory controller speed / divisor = memory DIMM speed

hi all. can someone explain this a little better for me?

i am pretty sure i know what the reference clock is on my cpu (64 x2 4200), 200 mhz. and i believe the multiplier can be 9, 10, or 11. processor speed is 2200mhz (?). questions: is processor/memory controller the same thing? and what is the divisor (ie the number and literally, what is it)?
anyone? basically i am trying to get the dimm speed on 800mhz ddr2 ram running with this cpu. i don't know if i will get the whole benefit of 800 mhz...because the divisor (what is this?) is odd????
can someone educate me please?
pardon my ignorance...
__________________

Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 12:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to bigr5026
Default

ok


heres what ya do


take your stock clock, that should be 2200

you take your multiplier, multiply that by the front side bus


the front side bus at stock, is always 200


so 200x11 is 2200

thus how you get your mhz

now, to overclock you normally push up and overclock your FSB, in this case would be the 200


now, for memory, depending on the devidor, you want to turn it down for your memory


now, if if you want to overclock the memory, im not going to touch DDR2 and i am clueless about it to be honost
__________________

bigr5026 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 12:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

so in my case, using amd, i would raise the reference clock in bios?
this isn't the one that overclocks the entire board thus voiding my warranty from amd, is it?
it says "Ref Clock (HTT), Mhz (200)", right?
where can i find the divisor?
and what exactly is it?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 12:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to bigr5026
Default

you cant raise your multipler higher than stock

any overclocking officially voilds your warranty


now, what they cant see and tell, they dont know,
bigr5026 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

but you can lower the multiuplier, right?
i think i read the 4200 is stock 11, but can be 9 or 10.
i just want to make sure i am going to have benefit of using ddr2 800, and not wasting money. although booya that corsair xms is supposed to be some good stuff.
i have read that my cpu has an "odd divisor", and i don't know what that is/means.
except that it is hard (impossible) for me to run "true 800mhz".
of course, 747mhz or whatever versus 800mhz is probably like, umm not noticable to humans. especially w/ good cpu and ram.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

check out this link,

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/373/3/

shows that it's pretty easy to oc 4200 with no aftermarket cooling...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 01:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to bigr5026
Default

i know its easy to overclock them
bigr5026 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 02:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigr5026
you cant raise your multipler higher than stock

FX60's, X6800 Conroes and Pentium D EE can.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 02:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

you forgot fx53, 55, 57 and 62... hahaha, and some way older processors as well
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 03:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to bigr5026
Default

yeah

not consumer level processors in my opinion

edit:
most of those guys that buy them wouldn t be asking this ?
__________________

bigr5026 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.