Difference between P4 and Athlon? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2004, 11:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Default Difference between P4 and Athlon?

Im thinking about doing a little upgrading.

Right now I have an Intel P4

Will I see a big difference with something like this?

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ "Barton", 400MHz FSB, 512K Cache Processor -


Mostly for games and internet. Is there a big difference between Athlon and intel?

Score another newbie question

One more.

PCI and AGP. PCI is the regular slots where you plug stuff in, is AGP on the actual MB?
__________________

-=DFOX=- is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 11:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

both PCI and AGP Slots are on the motherboard. You only have one AGP Slot though and generally it's brown and is completely offset from the PCI Slots....

What kind of Intel processor do you have now meaning speedwise? If you get a board like the NF7-S v2 from ABit and a 35w 2400+ XP-M or even the 2600+ XP-M you'll get the barton core with 512k L2 Cache just like that 3200+ XP, the difference is the XP-M's are for 'mobile' hence the M, but they are all socket A, these chips are INSANELY easily overclockable, I got mine running at 2.6GHz at the moment...

There's always debates but generally the rule of thumb is:

AMD = Gaming
Intel = Application use


AMD has shorter pipelines and can do more per instruction clock, whereas Intel has fatter longer pipelines allowing those higher clockspeed, but they don't do as much per clock cycle so thats why they can have a 3GHz chip and AMD only have 2.2 and still be able to keep up...My current OC'd processor will out do a 3.6GHz Intel on some benchmarks, but of course every system varies.

I say if you've been with Intel atleast give AMD a shot
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Search TF and you will find about 3,6million threads about (dis)-advantages of AMD and Intel.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 02:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

intel for apps, and AMD for games is the rule of thumb around here... and major that 3dmark2001 score is hilarious, what type of games you play?
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Currently I am not playing any games. I used to play Starcraft, C&C, Red Alert, Tib SUn, GT Sports Car, Toca2 and Sof1 on this comp. (and lots of other games I am to lazy to write down)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.