Difference between 60mhz & 75mhz? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 03:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default Difference between 60mhz & 75mhz?

Wassup everyone, I was just wondering whats the difference from 60mhz to 75mhz on my LCD Monitor?

What does it do and which should I put it at for the best picture?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 05:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it is 60Hz and 75Hz not MHz. you should leave it at 60Hz presuming that is the default.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 05:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Hz = number of cycles per second (in the case of monitors, it's the number of times the screen refreshes per second)

MHz = this many millions of cycles per second. monitors don't update millions of times per second.

but anyway, I'd recommend you do use 75Hz if your monitor supports it. the display is just smoother.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

A monitor "flickers" very very rapidly. So fast, you normally don't see a thing. But on 60Hz, sometimes it will hurt your eyes and make your tired or give you headaches.

If you have a digital camera, look through the LCD screen at the monitor and you can sometimes see the flicker clear as day.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 11:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

LCD monitors at 60hz are just fine....CRT at 60hz gives me a headache though
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Or if you watch the news and they're doing a report and you see a CRT monitor in the background, it doesn't look right. There's always a huge black line that moves.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yea, as said really. if it is a CRT then definatly set it at 75. if it is a TFT, then you won't notice the difference.
joshd is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

yup as far as I know TFTs don't have refresh rates...just response times
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Haha, mine's set at 85hz
I really can't see a difference from 60, though.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 07:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gurusan
yup as far as I know TFTs don't have refresh rates...just response times
yea exactly. if you work it out, surely a 16ms response monitor (like mine) can refresh at max 1000ms/16ms=62.5Hz. so surely setting it any higher is pointless, as the monitor can't display it anyway?

correct me if i am wrong....
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.