DFI NF4 Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 08:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Default DFI NF4 Questions

Yesterday, I received my components for my new computer from newegg. On the box for the lanparty mobo, it says that it is for AMD 64 939 socket cpus up to 3700+. I bought a 3800+. Is this mobo not going to work with the 3800+? Also, I bought a x800xt. Is it going to work with the lanparty mobo? I am pretty much a noob. The card is AGP and the mobo is PCI-E. Does this mean they can not work together?
__________________

mcr888 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296
Default

as far as th card working, sorry to say but no it will not work. And dont really know about the CPU.

This is why you always search, ask questions, compare, before you buy.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
Heatware
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Thanks for the info. Yeah, I did ask if all the items I was going to buy were compatible on here last week. And although people suggested different products, no one said that something I suggested wasn't compatible. At this point, I realize I am going to have to return something, but now I need to decide what. Should I return the mobo because the card is not compatible and the cpu might not be either or should I return the card and get a PCI-E card if I find out the cpu will work with the lanparty? I also have to take into account the 15% restockign charge at newegg. The mobo cost $215 and the card cost $500. So if I was to just return the mobo, what is the best one you would suggest that would work with the x800xt? Thanks.
mcr888 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296
Default

hmm a hard decision... Honestly dont think there are any Nforce 4 mobos with AGP at the moment, so your best bet is gonna be a Nforce3, would check out the MSI Neo2 platinum, if you return the mobo.

If you return the card and the CPU works, just get a 6800 Gt will be plenty plenty fast. Dunno but i think it might actually be a little quicker than the x800xt (ill search for sum benchmarks) Unless you wanna stick with ATI then by all means do so.

hmm heres the link for the MSI mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-468&depa=1

Edit well looked at sum benchmarks and the x800xt is about 10-20fps faster in most benchmarks cept for doom 3.
__________________
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
Heatware
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Default

You are right it is a hard decision. First, I need to find out if the 3800+ will work with the mobo.
mcr888 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the X800's come in PCI-E, so you could exchange your card for one
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The 3800+ will work with a bios flash for sure, I thought all the NF4 DFI's said they supported up to 4200+ or FX-55

But since it says "supports up to 3700+" and 3700+ is alot older than any DFI nforce4 mobo, and SKT 754, im not sure if your board is SKT 939
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
But since it says "supports up to 3700+" and 3700+ is alot older than any DFI nforce4 mobo, and SKT 754, im not sure if your board is SKT 939
I hope it is socket 939. I just purchased it from newegg this weekend, so let's hope they sent me the right one. I will check when I get home. Thanks for the info.
mcr888 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296
Default

which board did you get? is it the SLI DR?
is this it?:http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...136-151&depa=1

its the closeest to the price you mentioned, if it then its a 939 mobo
__________________
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
Heatware
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TipsySmile
which board did you get? is it the SLI DR?
is this it?:http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...136-151&depa=1

its the closeest to the price you mentioned, if it then its a 939 mobo

Yes. That is the one I purchased and on the box is were it says "up to 3700+."
__________________

mcr888 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.