DFI Lanparty SLI power switch connection - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2006, 01:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default DFI Lanparty SLI power switch connection

Got a minor problem that just ain't wanting to get fixed.

Bought a rig from someone. It has a DFI Lanparty SLI mobo in a CoolerMaster Wave Master case. Anyway, during shipment, some things got wiggled loose. I have everything else buttoned up but this.

The lead from the power switch wiggled off of the mobo. The mobo has three prongs for the power switch, but the lead for the Wave Master only has two slots/holes. I have tried it on the first two, the last two, flipped the connector over and tried it both ways. No luck.

I know the mobo is working because I can use the onboard switch on the mobo to fire it up.

So, I need suggestions/ideas/solutions. I could be overlooking something or have not tried it a certain way. I am so flipping excited to finally get this thing here, only to be let down by having to fix it to use it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 04-24-2006, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I just checked my board and I see the atx switch is a 2 pin connector. Are you sure you aren't trying the power leds instead? The atx switch is next to the 3 pin power led connection below the reset switch which is also 2 pin
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

on mine im pretty sure its a 2 pin connector (im not at home so i cant check), you might just want to double check all your connections.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 07:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I'm at work right now, but I'll try it out when I get home.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 04-25-2006, 12:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
I just checked my board and I see the atx switch is a 2 pin connector. Are you sure you aren't trying the power leds instead?
took the words right out of my mouth
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
Are you sure you aren't trying the power leds instead?
Ooops. I saw "Power" and make a mental link, I guess.

Hooked it up to the ATX and it fired right up.

It seems that the mobo isn't seeing the SATA drive, but I really don't know. I've never messed with one before. I had to move it to a different bay (you'd have had to see it...), so maybe I didn't hook it back up right. Does it matter which SATA socket you hook the cable up to?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

don't think so but i would put it to SATA 1. if you are talking about the SLI-D that would be the bottom left port. use SATA power if its available rather than a molex and make sure that the sata ports are enabled in BIOS. its under the "genie bios setting" and would be something like "enable phys sata ports 1/2" and below it the same for 3/4.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

i had the same problem with my sata ports and my ide channel 2.. that made me go a week wondering what was going on lol
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 02:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Well, it seems that I had it plugged up to one of the Silicon Image SATA ports. it's all fixed now
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.