Dell starts selling $9,900 overclocked gaming PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2006, 09:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Must be the paint job lol
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 11:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to mrscientific13
Default

What you're really paying for is a paint job, the overclocking, and the quad SLI. Also the unnecesarily huge monitor that's bound to blind you unless you are sitting 4 feet away from it.
__________________

mrscientific13 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 11:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

no those moniters are not unnecasary...


they are downright awsome


Friggen 30 Inches! thats double my 15" lcd!!!!
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:05 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

i bet you could build the same thing for a cheaper price
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:36 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default

Of course you could... except we (as consumers) don't have access to the quad-sli setup and the phsyx card isn't for retail release just yet.

Plus, considering the overkill of 4 cards, I'm wonder how big the difference would be between the exact same system with only 2 cards sli. I know it'll be better, but even that overclocked processor bottlenecks the 4 gpus.
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 06:17 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to bigr5026
Default

I think that the overclockedness of thatsystem will cause problems.


The paint job looks horrible in my opinion.

And last, quad sli is not utilized yet, so no point in putting it in systems



I bet some people will buy it just to say i have 4 gfx cards, and i play halo like 100x better, and i will pwn you.
bigr5026 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 09:17 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Guff1988 Send a message via Yahoo to Guff1988
Default

shoulda used the amd fx-60
__________________
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/5568/cky9qc.jpg
They say Evil Prevails when good men fail to act.
What they should say is "Evil Prevails."
Guff1988 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 11:42 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
no those moniters are not unnecasary...


they are downright awsome


Friggen 30 Inches! thats double my 15" lcd!!!!
actually its 4 times as big
The General is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 10:26 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by the general
actually its 4 times as big
actually, its just over 3 times as big due to the widescreen, lol,
Spartan is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 03:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigr5026
I think that the overclockedness of thatsystem will cause problems. <--Doubt it



And last, quad sli is not utilized yet, so no point in putting it in systems.

WM-->It is utilized 100%, The graphics horsepower generated in a PC using Quad SLI technology allows gamers to set their monitors to extreme HD resolutions, including an incredible 2560x1600, while still maintaining silky smooth frame rates. In addition, support for a new 32x antialiasing mode, and 16x anisotropic filtering enables stunning visuals and image quality for a truly immersive gaming experience. Can you do this on your system? or with 1 or 2 of these cards and look the same? **** no, and its much better on a 30" monitor than a 15" monitor so it was bundeld perfectly, except thay should have use the FX proc, other than that, is an awesome machine.


I bet some people will buy it just to say i have 4 gfx cards, and i play halo like 100x better, and i will pwn you.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.