Dell Inspiron 510 M- Would you recommend? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2005, 12:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Default Dell Inspiron 510 M- Would you recommend?

Processor Intel® Celeron® M Processor 350 (1.30 GHz, 1MB L2
Cache, 400MHz FSB) + 15" XGA LCD Screen 26169
Operating System Microsoft® Windows® XP Home SP2 20633
Memory 512MB 333MHz DDR RAM (2x256MB)3
Keyboard Dell Keyboard with Touchpad
Hard Drive 40GB 5400RPM IDE Hard Drive
Modem Internal 56K v.92 Capable Fax Modem
CD ROM/DVD ROM Modular 24x CDRW/24x DVD Combo Drive Wireless LAN Solution - WiFi 2100 Intel Pro Wireless Card Microsoft Application Software Microsoft® Works 7.0
Support Service Basic 3Yr Onsite: 3 Year Intl Next Business Day onsite + 30 day Online MultiMedia Training
Security Software No security subscription 36099 [650-10355] 40
Dell Picture Studio Dell Picture Studio - Photo Album Standard (60 Day Trial)
Paint Shop Dell Picture Studio - Paint Shop Pro 8.0 (60 Day Trial)
Primary Battery 6 Cell 53WHr LI-ION Primary Battery Carry Case Deluxe Nylon carrycase 5766
Dell Media Experience Dell Media Experience 3.0 Basic- Inspiron

I am thinking of buying this notebook. Going by the specs above would you recoomend it? It will be mainly used for home use i.e word documents, inernet, gaming and dvds
__________________

clipper is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

How much money are you spending? That machine wont be the greatest for gaming, but if you want a laptop just for internet and word processing than that is really almost more than enough.

Are you adamant about a laptop? Why not build your own desktop? You could build one 3 times that fast for prolly the same price thereabout.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 05:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well it wont handle any real "internet gaming" like CSS and crap.

However if it's flash games it's fine
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 06:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

it's probably using intel extreme graphics (onboard)

so you probably can't play any games that actually...uhh...look somewhat nice?

it can handle stuff like diabloII, warcraftIII, etc. just fine though
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.