dell case, possible to soup up? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2005, 10:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pumagt500
Its fun too build a computer. I was wondering cant you just buy a new mobo mark where you want the holes. Drill them with a small bit and then tap the holes. Then at lan parts people will think you have a stock dell but under that hood your running 64 bits of rage.
you'd need a new mobo tray, i dont think it would work with the one Dell uses (most of them are really flimsy) you could just use the dell CASING and rip out the actual interior, get a really cheap ATX case and rip off the casing and swap. it'd be alot of work cutting it all to fit but i think it's doable and it would fool alot of people lmao.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 10:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to pumagt500 Send a message via Yahoo to pumagt500
Default

Yea I guess it is too flimsy. They dont build em like they used too. I could do that though. My fathers father was a tool maker and metal worker. When he passed my father got all of his tools and machinery. Now my dad gave me all the tools and machinery. So I have all the tools too do metal work of the calibur. Or couldnt you just beef up the original tray by welding or riviting a piece of sheet metal under it. Or adding some hollow squar aluminum rods and welding them under the tray.
__________________

pumagt500 is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 11:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default

yeah, but this guy is nervous about getting into building computers, he doesn't need to fool around with a case mod job, he's not even sure about his video card, i got the computer working bug from my friends, it's mainly just picking the right parts and putting them together, no fabrication is really needed, especially at first
Mooney is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 11:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

If you can afford to literally ruin this Dell case and you have a replacement on hand i'd say go for it. Otherwise if worst comes to worst and you totally ruin it (say torch the mobo tray or get it too hot and melt it) you might not have a case to run the PC in. Modding is fun, i always say go for it unless you don't have a backup plan.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 12:05 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to pumagt500 Send a message via Yahoo to pumagt500
Default

Well there is no reason too torch any component or piece of the computer. I highly doubt your gonna melt the aluminum tray IF you do torch it. You would have to have that torch on the tray for longer then you think. Itll worp easy though. So if you inucure about welding use rivits there easy permenent and safe. Modding is very fun and easy. I wish I had a dell case too mod. I could make it look so awsome.
__________________
<center>Halo crusher mod</center>
<center>http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39001</center>
pumagt500 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 12:38 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to pumagt500 Send a message via Yahoo to pumagt500
Default

Can we see a pic of your dell case?
__________________
<center>Halo crusher mod</center>
<center>http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39001</center>
pumagt500 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 04:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

eh i guess? lol

http://ascii24.com/news/i/hard/artic...ages684979.jpg
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 09:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Quintox
eh i guess? lol

http://ascii24.com/news/i/hard/artic...ages684979.jpg
lol my skool uses those cases. they buy freaking $3K+ Dell's for the digital graphics courses and computer animation classes...they could save so much money hiring a couple computer savvy students and getting them built right at the school (i bet from certain websites they would still get school discounts and stuff Dell gives them)
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 10:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to pumagt500 Send a message via Yahoo to pumagt500
Default

yea my skool has the same ones. You cant make to many case mods for it. You know skools
Dell charges $1,000
skool pays $4,000 just to raise the taxes
__________________
<center>Halo crusher mod</center>
<center>http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39001</center>
pumagt500 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 10:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Don't feel itimidated building a PC, start researching parts around the web, and reading these forums and asking questions.

When the time comes when you have money to dish out on one, we will be more than happy to guide you along. I gurantee you if you have a question, at least one person on this forum will have a legitimate answer for you.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.