dell case, possible to soup up? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2005, 04:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default dell case, possible to soup up?

I have an old dell dimension 4500s that i will soon get for myself. now, its really no good at all for gaming ..

specs:
1.8ghz p4
256RAM
onboard intel card (PCI)
20 GB HD

now, is it possible to put in a new mobo, etc into it? i ask b/c the case is sorta thin...anyone know?
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Nope. Dell makes their cases so that you need them to upgrade any parts in it. A normal standard ATX motherboard more than likely won't fit into the dell because of the dimensions, screw positions, etc...etc...

You need to build a computer if you want customness, dells are .....well.....dells and they really don't deviate from that
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 04:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

hha ok, i didnt think so anyway, it was just a try

PS i cant build computers, its too hard, IF i have enoguh $$ i'm just gonna buy one, but only the actuall computer, not like moniter etc, just adds more money

but i will research well this time for the good gaming computer, i didnt know about agp and all that stuff b4 i bought the last computer
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

nah it's not hard. Its the fact you sit there and tell yourself it's hard that prevents you from doing it. Trust me man back in August of 2004 is when I first signed up for this website and my first question was

"How do I pick a Power supply? How many molex connectors do they have?" <---- that noobish or what?

It's fairly easy to learn and in the long run would be a lot better than a dell machine.

Plus you already want to try and 'soup' it up just think of the possibilities with a home built machine
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
when I first signed up for this website and my first question was

"How do I pick a Power supply? How many molex connectors do they have?" <---- that noobish or what?

those are the things that confuse me, how one would know how much power you need, and how much fans you need... lol
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 05:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

There's tons of places to look up that kind of info, and that's what we're here for, to point you in that direction
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 05:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

lol thnks, but i cant build a computer yet, i have no money
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 06:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

you cant do much with a dell case.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 07:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to darksenate78
Default

Yeah, Dells are crap to try to soup up. I'm currently on one :P waiting on replacement hard drive.

Trust me, dude, last year roughly around May I was saving up to buy a pc from Alienware, but then a friend suggested building one. I really had no idea what I was doing at that time. With about a month of research and a lil over 1000 invested, I made my first build. Trust me, you'll have more satisfaction building
__________________
Gigabyte - 7N400L - nVIDIA nForce2
AMD Athlon XP3000+
PNY Verto GeForce FX 5900se Video Card / 128MB / AGP 8x
AC-97 Sound
Kingston Dual Channel 512MB PC2700 DDR 333MHz Memory
Western Digital 160GB
Diablo ATX Mid-Tower Case with 450Watt Power Supply
Ultra All Copper up to XP 3200+ CPU Cooling Fan
Sony DRU530A DVD Burner
darksenate78 is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 09:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to pumagt500 Send a message via Yahoo to pumagt500
Default

Its fun too build a computer. I was wondering cant you just buy a new mobo mark where you want the holes. Drill them with a small bit and then tap the holes. Then at lan parts people will think you have a stock dell but under that hood your running 64 bits of rage.
__________________

__________________
<center>Halo crusher mod</center>
<center>http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39001</center>
pumagt500 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.