DDR333 as fast as DDR400 on AMD 64's? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2005, 08:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default DDR333 as fast as DDR400 on AMD 64's?

What is this I hear about Ram and Athlon 64s? I heard that when using 64's there is no performance increase when going from DDR333 to DDR400.
How can this be true?

Someone explain the Athlon 64 BUS to me!

If the BUS is 1600MHz and more than why cant we just use DDR1600 or something?

Im sooo confused!

ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 08:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Because the HTT that's 1600 or 2000 is because of the hypertransport. It's still shown as 200 in the BIOS, but it's 200 x the HTT (for a 1000MHz board it'd be 5) so 200 x 5 = 1000x2 = 2000, that extra 2 is because of the fact of the 64bit nature of the CPUs.

The RAM works the same way, it's still shown as 200 or whatever it may be, but due to the hypertransport it's got that bigger bus.

Also as it is, the higher frequency RAM sticks have really loose timings so basically they need to develope a new style of RAM chip or something.

I don't know about that DDR333 not being much worse than DDR400, sounds like a load of crap to me, as you'd have a bottleneck in your system.

Nubius is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 12:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943

yea i can see a differance when i underclock my ram on my system don't believe the person who told u that stuff he must have been talking about the XP series.
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 02:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

How would it make sense on the XP series?

It doesn't no matter which way you look at it
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.