DDR3 help!!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2008, 04:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: romania
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to t.manu
Default DDR3 help!!!!!!

hi all. i need you to help me with a problem. i have a gigabyte ep45t-dr3 motherboard and 2 * 2gb kingmax ddr3 @ 1600 mhz modules of memory. the problem is they are curently working at 1333mhz... i tried to OC them to 1600, but the system crashes after save and exit in bios... it doesn`t make any beeps or nothing... the power led is going on and off until i push the reset button and the settings in bios are backing up. my curent configuration is : ga-ep43t-ds3 motherboard, intel c2d e8500, 2 * 2 GB kingmax @ 1600, seagate 500gb 32mb, his ati hd 4870 512mb, creative x-fi xtreme audio pcie and a 500W psu. is it possible that the psu would be the problem because it`s only 500W? or am i doing something wrong? thanks!
__________________

t.manu is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 04:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: DDR3 help!!!!!!

Have you got the latest bios there were some issues with ram in the first few bioses think its fixed now.
What brand is psu if its cheap it could be the issue that your just pushing it from bordeline to fail but if its a good model that shouldn't be the issue
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 04:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: romania
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to t.manu
Default Re: DDR3 help!!!!!!

its not a very respectable psu brand. i will think about it. i have the latest bios version
t.manu is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 05:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Default Re: DDR3 help!!!!!!

are you setting Dram voltage according to the sticks specs
Shady090 is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 05:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: romania
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to t.manu
Default Re: DDR3 help!!!!!!

yes... i set 1.9 v accordind to specs... result => system crash
t.manu is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 02:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: DDR3 help!!!!!!

What cpu frequency are you at? And what is your FSB/DRAM ratio?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 03:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: DDR3 help!!!!!!

Did you make sure the timings are set correctly? They're getting enough power? Bios is updated? Sticks are in the correct slots?
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 05:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: DDR3 help!!!!!!

loosen the timings too ..make sure they are at the rated timings for the speed and not the timings for the lower speed
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 08:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: DDR3 help!!!!!!

Try cas 8 or 9. I think gigabyte is still having probs w/ ddr3 on their boards.
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 07:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: romania
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to t.manu
Default Re: DDR3 help!!!!!!

thanks all ... i`ll keep trying
__________________

t.manu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good DDR3 RAM for x58 EVGA? StealthTools New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-14-2008 07:22 PM
DDR3 Memory: Technology Explained - by benchmarkreviews Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 33 11-30-2008 04:20 PM
DDR3 compatibility question heffer New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-30-2008 08:44 AM
DDR3 worth getting? Check out these OC charts..... Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 26 08-27-2007 01:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.