DDR2 memory / SATA HD's: Worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2005, 06:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to dgessler
Default DDR2 memory / SATA HD's: Worth it?

I will slowly be in the process of collecting parts to build a decent computer, I don't want to spend more than $7-800 in doing so, so I'll be looking out for good deals.

The thing is, I'm not very computer-building savvy regarding what parts to choose. I see there are always great deals on the DDR ram (not DDR2), and the older ATA hard drives (not the SATA ones). My question: will I be good with the older technology (like a 250GB 7200rpm ATA)? Can anyone point out what I'll be missing out on if I chose to go with the older technology? Do you guys think I'll be fine with the older technology? I'm planning on putting in a P4 3.0ghz, or a similar AMD.

Thanks,
Dan
__________________

dgessler is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 06:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

get an amd machine, they're cheaper and better preformance, that leaves out ddr2 and sata isn't much more than ata, 160gb for $87
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 06:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to dgessler
Default

Thanks for the reply. Keep the opinions coming please On a separate note.. if my time on the computer is spent 98% of the time not gaming, would you still recommend an AMD over an Intel? In other words, will the AMD's perform just as good for tasks excluding gaming? That HT technology which Intel introduced seems like it would benefit a person like me (who may be running multiple large programs at once).

Dan
dgessler is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Save up all your money, and buy everything at once. Unless your going to be getting all the pieces within maybe a week, which you aren't going to be doing it seems. It will save you some money, since prices are going down.
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Intel is the better choice for general purpose multitasking and casual gaming. An Intel will give you plenty of fps enough, then you just need a good vid card.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Maybe you might want to go with the cheaper celeron d or sempron 3100 and overclock it if you plan on building a comp for 800 bucks. Sure celeron d doesnt have hyperthreading and sempron doesnt have 64 bit, but If your planning on getting a decent comp for 800, you have to cut somwhere. However, if you aren't planning to get a monitor,keyboard, os, and mouse, then 800 dollars is a pretty decent amount for a comp.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
Maybe you might want to go with the cheaper celeron d or sempron 3100 and overclock it if you plan on building a comp for 800 bucks. Sure celeron d doesnt have hyperthreading and sempron doesnt have 64 bit, but If your planning on getting a decent comp for 800, you have to cut somwhere. However, if you aren't planning to get a monitor,keyboard, os, and mouse, then 800 dollars is a pretty decent amount for a comp.
that's dumb..he can just save money and get everything he needs at once (and better stuff too)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

i dont think he means it like that, i think he means, if the guy already has an operating system, monitor, and mouse from another system he owned... just my guess, but id have to say so.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

For $800 USD you should not have to stoop to sempron/celeron. You might have to get a 2.8 p4 or an amd 2800+ but you gotta budget that in. Having one of those two top-of-the-line processors is crucial.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 01:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

i have an xp-m for sale along with the nf7-s it can easily hit 2.8 gigahertz on air! thats only gonna cost you about 150 bucks, for board and cpu! memory for around 200 and you got a sweet setup
__________________

__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.