a damn motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2005, 12:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default a damn motherboard

ok im not going to change anything except the motherboard what is the best mother board for

an amd athlon 64 fx -55

and 2 nvidia geforce 6800 ultras (pci-e versions) linked in sli.

im not worried about the memory or anything else i just want the best for those two parts.
__________________

__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 03:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

this one looks quite good. Never used it before, but the specs look good.

http://www.dfi.com.tw/Product/xx_pro...YPE=LP&SITE=UK
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 07:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

What waynejkruse10 was perfect for the FX55 and i would of said the same thing.

Also for the last time you cant get 2 nvidia geforce 6800 ultras pci-e versions only GT'S because nobody makes the Ultra in PCI-E versions yet.

Neosteve
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 04:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yeah, do a 6800gt sli
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Plus the GT's if bought from eVGA should be able to OC up to Ultra speeds pretty easily anyway
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 04:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

would 2 ultras even be able to fit those cards are huge. that would be one cramped mofo. i mean mobo.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 09:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by neosteve
Also for the last time you cant get 2 nvidia geforce 6800 ultras pci-e versions only GT'S because nobody makes the Ultra in PCI-E versions yet.
how come there's pictures and benchmarks everywhere over the web then?

http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/image/11206/

http://www.atacom.com/program/print_...68&USER_ID=www
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 10:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Ooooooooooooooooooooooh.....nice one 4W4K3
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 10:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Ooooooooooooooooooooooh.....nice one 4W4K3
lol look at the freaking price tag :heartattack!: lmao. more than my entire rig and my old p3 put together i think.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 10:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah mine too, really makes you feel like crap eh? Oh well I still know mine and yours will kick a lot of more expensive systems out there
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.