cutting a whole in my case. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2006, 08:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default cutting a whole in my case.

I am thinking about putting a fan in the top of my raidmax ninja computer case.

I would use a dremel but my parents will get mad if i open it cause they are selling it on ebay.

Will a rotozip work for that?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 08:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Not too sure if that will work, but you can get hole saw attachments for a drill and cut a perfect rounded hole for a fan. Drill 4 holes for the screws and get a nice fan grill with a thick edge and your sorted.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 08:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Yes, A rotozip will work.

It will be easier if you have all the attachments, inparticular the one that works like a compass (geometry, not nautical).

Drill the "seating" hole at the center of the point you want your cut-out to be, then use the guide to describe your circle as the rotozip cuts the material of your case.

Wear eye-protection as you will want to observe the cut as it is being made to make sure that it is clean and professional.
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 09:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I used a pocket knife and a drill wich worked great.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 01:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

http://img247.imageshack.us/content....nthetopkd2.jpg

Thats the picture i took of the fan on top of my case.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 01:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Holy ****! All the effort just for that little fan!? You should have put something massive in there, capable of moving a lot of air quietly and efficiently...like at least a 120mm.

BTW, thermite and a pair of bone-nipper pliars work great, too...if you're a pyro. If not, a jig-saw with a steel-cut blade works great.

PS - the **** was for h3ll...not the more commonly thought of curse...
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 01:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I am thinking about upgrading but i can't use that pocket knife again cause now its too dull.

At least the pocket knife wasn't too expensive. ($10.00)
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 02:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Norcent
At least the pocket knife wasn't too expensive. ($10.00)
If you have friends, find one with a dremmel or jigsaw. I'm sure someone will help you make a round hole.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 02:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I don't think so cause i work all the time and my friends work 3 jobs.

I don't like using other peoples tools either.

If i had an 120mm fan laying around i'd make that whole bigger.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well have you ever heard of sharpening the knife?? I mean holy krap,
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.