cutting case for fan placement - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2005, 01:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default cutting case for fan placement

I wanted to cut a hole in the top of my antec sx1040BII file server case to put a 120mm fan on top of the case. i wanted to know the best way to do this. i started by using a dremel but the case seems to be pretty strong and is eating away at everything i throw at it. if anyone has any ideas at what to use or how to do it id appreciate the help.
__________________

__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 04:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

When cutting in a case, theres a chance that you can botch up your case and screw everything up. Why do you need to have another fan, mabye we can think of a more efficient way of cooling than cutting in your case.
But its very possible, and im sure many users here have done it, but not me personally.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 07:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Try a hole saw that will do the trick
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 11:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

my apartment is extremely hot and it makes my pc run hotter than it would under normal conditions. im trying to get all the cooling i can without resorting to expensive watercooling. the hole saw sounds like a good idea i just hate to go out and buy one strictly for this purpose as i dont see myself using it again for anything else but that might be my only choice.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 11:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

They are cheap about $15 for a 79mm one
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 11:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

i need a bigger hole than that im putting in a 12cm fan but ill check it out.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 11:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to pumagt500 Send a message via Yahoo to pumagt500
Default

Did you mark where you want the fan. The hole is gonna be circle. Just drill a hole along the edge of where your cutting. Etheir use a hole saw or dremel but im not sure what atachments you got for your dremel.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v339/urca560/hole.jpg
After you do that your gonna have too grind down the edges of the cut.
__________________
<center>Halo crusher mod</center>
<center>http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39001</center>
pumagt500 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 10:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

i did it with the dremel came out pretty good. only problem is mbm5 isnt reading my case temps correctly so i dont know if it helped. if anyone can help with that problem please let me know.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 01:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

What dremel attachments did you use to create the hole? Is it a perfectly smooth circle or kind of straight edged like an octagon? I have a dremel, but I don't know what the best way to cut out a circle would be besides a jigsaw which is only for the XPR series. Other than that the cutting blades are for straight lines =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 03:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ive heard of a dremal tool, what is it, where can i get it?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.