Curious.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2007, 08:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Trust me, you won't want this... Well you may, but I won't be selling it. It can reach really good bus speeds only issue is... My processor wants some serious volts to get to 3.0Ghz... I can do 2.7Ghz fine but after that the Vcore fluctuates to much with a slightly higher voltage and OVP kicks in and wont kick off till you leave the system off for a LONG time...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Ok, doesnt matter anyway since I just realized your board is a AM2 and I am still stuck on 939.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

lol
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Im selling my DFI Lanparty Ultra-D for 75 Dollars.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 10:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I would say yes Lord Anthrax but I wont have the money for a couple weeks.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 11:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
uhhh...ever heard of an analogy?
take it easy there, chief.
that was a pretty subtle analogy if i've ever seen one.
i do know what an analogy is, and i also know A LOT is two words. lol.
i guess i just didnt catch the analogy between a graphics card and a motherboard. apologies.
original poster, you say you have to really up the voltage to get to 3.0
what voltage do you have to use? i am just curious...i can get my 4200 to 2.7+ with a slight vcore increase. to stabilize at 2.75 i need 1.45 or 1.475 i cant remember which.
i have upped the vcore to 1.6 and can post close (so close) to 3.0ghz. but my abit will not let me go higher than 299 bus speed, and i have to use a x9 multi to get that. at x10, i cant go quite that high, but overall closer to 3ghz. so, either it is my mobo or my psu. i dunno?
i would look at the dfi lanparty ut dude it is supposed to be the boss hogg of am2 overclockers.
if you get it, let me (us) know how it works out. actually, do that no matter which board you get!
good luck!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 12:45 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I can't get above 1.5V because of OVP on my vcore and 2.2V on my ram... It's a pita... I require 1.65 to stay stable at 2.9Ghz for a few hours..... Above that it fluctuates to much and OVP keeps me from even posting... Have to reset it all...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 01:24 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

The boards could be different in terms of bios. My board was originally made by Chaintech and if you check review's of the board there are alot more bios features for overclocking than the BFG version but both boards are exactly the same! For some reason I cannot flash the Chaintech bios on this BFG board so I got screwed big time.He could always return it and get a different board if needed.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 02:31 AM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

true enough about exchanging it...
i think you're right, the difference is probably in the bios. although i don't know what it could be...?
i would like to see some results from a high-end am2 mobo before i replace my abit in search of a higher overclock...
probably a stupid question, but you cannot turn off the ovp?
i dont think you want to have the vcore up at 1.65 or above...its gonna get pretty warm.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 05:43 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I've got a Foxconn C51XEM2AA Nforce 590 board. it's quite good.

I always thought of Foxconn as a cheapo brand before I got this board, but Foxconn have actually done pretty well on it.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.