Curious.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2007, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Curious....

Ok so I have decided to buy a new motherboard, I have been looking at the EVGA motherboards for AM2 (only buying motherboard, don't try to convince me to go with another socket) Anyways I found one I would like... But I have noticed that BFG and XFX make boards that look EXACTLY the same... With the same specs... Here are the links at the two that I was considering... Only thing I have noticed is RAID support on one was a tad bit different...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813189002
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188008


Look at there pictures... There the same... almost, anyways any ideas? Opinions on if I should get the more expensive one or the cheaper one?
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Its like the new 8800 series cards. All the cards are the same, the companies just supplie different warrenties and clock speeds but the prices can vary ALOT.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

uhhh...he's talking about motherboards, dude.
depends how important raid is to you, O.P.
if that's the only difference.
do you mind if i ask why you are choosing to upgrade your mobo and what are you upgrading from?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

upgrading from a MSI K9n Platinum... buggy as **** and it's ********.... I have had it for nearly a year now so...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 07:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

hmm, thats good to know. i have been thinking of upgrading my abit as well to see if i can break 3.0ghz. That was one of my choices, but the more i think about it, the more i am liking the dfi lanparty.
although the bfg you listed also looks nice. i would do some reading on the technical review sites before buying either, though. then go with the one that offers what you need. i personally need a board that allows high bus speeds. which abit doesn't lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 07:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

MSI has issues with OVP... It's a PITA...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
uhhh...he's talking about motherboards, dude.
uhhh...ever heard of an analogy?

Anyway, I would go with Evga since they have good reputations with video cards and motherboards to some degree (Nosboost's issue with his Evga 680i board is an example) but BFG isnt good either. Their boards are stable stock but are buggy when overclocked and dont give you very much options. Evga's warrenty is probably better than BFG's but dont quote me on that. Ive owned a EVGA and BFG motherboard and even though they were pretty close in specs and price, the BFG board had very little overclocking problems (too bad the EVGA board died a couple weeks after owning it, probably due to human error) IMO, Evga>BFG. The extra money might be worth it but it is your choice. You could always look into another chipset if worse comes to worse.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Yea, right now I am worried about bugs when overclocking... This MSI board has WAY to many bugs and is extremly picky with its ram and voltages....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

My board I have right now is weird. Its a different board but I could hit 2.7ghz and run it stable for 12 hours then reboot and its doesnt post. I want to get a DFI lanparty when I get the money and throw away this POS. Hey, if and when you sell that motherboard, want to sell it to me? Lol. Trust me, anything is better than this thing.

Actually, I was just looking at review for a DFI RS482 INFINITY ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...k=&srchInDesc= ) and according to reviews and a $80 price tag, its worth buying it!

When it comes down to it, if you are short on money get the BFG version. If you dont want to get the BFG version and cant afford the EVGA version, look into another chipset.

If non of these apply, just get the Evga version. Lol
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
dfi lanparty.
Get it, Get it now, Right now, Go.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.