Critique please - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2005, 02:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 61
Default

I've heard great things about eVGA card but never used one. leadtek is supposed to be good as well.

How much are you willing to spend on a video card? The one I posted a link to is a for a budget gaming system, but if you've got a lot you're willing to spend you might go for a 6800 or even 7800.
__________________

notquitedead is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 03:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by notquitedead
I've heard great things about eVGA card but never used one. leadtek is supposed to be good as well.

How much are you willing to spend on a video card? The one I posted a link to is a for a budget gaming system, but if you've got a lot you're willing to spend you might go for a 6800 or even 7800.
Imo a 7800 would be a bit overkill for a non-gamer
__________________

jasedog is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 03:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

did I mention that my budget is 150-200 CAD?
peekaboo is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 04:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default

Quote:
but if you've got a lot you're willing to spend you might go for a 6800 or even 7800.
PLease note that he is not a gamer.
Heres the deal, i would suggest an MSI or DFI board and the 6600GT eVGA. BTW if you have a DVD burner then you dont need a DVD-ROM, the DVD burner doubles as a DVD-ROM, CD R/W, CD-ROM, and of course burns DVDs. So lighten the cash on that and take that DVD-ROM off. Hmm i dont see anything else wrong cept somebody suggesting a 3700+ which is rediculous for a NON GAMER. Your good to go.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 04:19 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
did I mention that my budget is 150-200 CAD?
Yeah, sorry about that. I replied with the link to the video card after I read that, but then forgot later and didn't see a price range in the first post so I asked again.
notquitedead is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 05:14 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

don't go asus i went asus cos they were the first amd 939 pci-e mobo and i wish i had got a dfi abit gigabyte or just about anything else. there are problems with 1t memory timings bios gliches and hell by defalt it was pumping max vcore into my ram and cpu and breaching the warrenties on both
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 05:22 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Then what board do you suggest?
A google review search gave me positive reviews about the board but I will now check again.
peekaboo is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 09:17 AM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default

Google results usualy tend to give you positive results. Like i said before i suggest either a DFI Lanparty or an MSI. I know your not OCing but its better to have the quality sitting there and know that its going to work.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 11:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

There are two sockets on my mobo marked CHA1_FAN and CHA2_FAN.
Can anyone tell me what they are?
there is one plug from the psu that can fit into either one.
the mobo is Asus A8N-E.
Terrible instructions on everything. Not written for the first time builder.
peekaboo is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 05:37 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45
Default

With Asus, any fan connectors prefixed by 'CHA' are chassis fans. I imagine they're identical and are.. (if Asus have been sensible) situated at opposite sides of the mobo to make cable management a little easier.
__________________

jasedog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.