Creating Partitions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2006, 03:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
I don't know what you are smoking, but you couldn't be any worse at giving advice. Fdisk can't resize partitions. The Fdisk on a Win98 disc doesn't support NTFS, Gparted can resize NTFS partitions. That's what he needed to do ... resize his NTFS partition to make room for a new partition. Gparted, which is included on the "free AND legal" Ubuntu disc is exactly what he needed. He doesn't need to go and:

1. Find a disc he can't find
2. Use it to do something it can't do
3. On a filesystem that it doesn't support
4. On hardware that won't be detected
5. On 9 year old software

How is that easier?

1. Download Ubuntu
2. Boot it
3. Run Gparted
4. Drag the divider over with the mouse to the desired partition sizes
5. Click OK.
Take it easy man. Nobody is perfect.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 03:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Take it easy man. Nobody is perfect.
I tried to take it easy, but he was wrong on so many levels that I had to add that first sentence in there.

I even left out the part that the Ubuntu disc has a version of Fdisk on it that DOES support all those filesystems.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 04:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya... well i found out dark messiah's problem... and i think its all video driver related... or the game doesnt support the drivers... i still get the direct3d errors in dark messiah.. but i just got through playing cs and condemned just fine.. anyway, i guess i'll wait it out until the x1950pro has new drivers..

but once i get my 250gb hard drive i'll be sure to download ubuntu and use gparted

i'm going ot try the 6.10 drivers right now, in hopes of it curing my problems.. i don't know if 6.10 support the x1950 pro.. but it does say x1900 series and x1950........ but above it, it says "x1950 pro uses looking for drivers click here" and thats the 6.09 drivers.. but i'll try 10.. lol
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 04:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well... tried using it and hardware not compatible... stupid x1950 and its crappy drivers... i'm already having resolution problems as well...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 04:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

You mean ATI has driver problems? Haven't I been saying this the whole time? Why did you betray nVidia in the first place??
The General is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 04:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

because crossfire yields better results with the x1900 series!! muawahahaha, and... my video quality and color actually do look better with this card

if you can find me some hacked sli drivers for an msi 975x platinum power up edition i may consider an 8800gtx
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 04:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

http://www.google.com/search?q=hacke...utf-8&oe=utf-8

lol :laughing:
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.