CPUZ Link Width Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2007, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default CPUZ Link Width Question

I had my CPU clocked at 2.8Ghz, and CPUZ showed my link width at x16........... then I clock my CPU to 3Ghz and now it shows x1 on my link width.......... I never changed any other setting, what's going on?
__________________

__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: CPUZ Link Width Question

This is a VERY annoying common issue with P5B boards.

When I encountered this problem the only thing that fixed it was to restore BIOS to factory defaults, reboot, and then enter your clock settings manually.

Also, once I get good settings entered in the BIOS I always save the settings to one of the 2 Bios Profiles just in case the problem occurs again.

Oh, 1 hint, try setting your PCI-E to 101 or 105
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 07:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default Re: CPUZ Link Width Question

Oh, thank god I saved it JUST before I made the change to 3Ghz, haha. But I've tried 101, and nothing........... should i try 102, 103, 104, up to 105??? Is it ok for it to be set at 105???
__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 07:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: CPUZ Link Width Question

People overclock up to 125mhz but I'd stay under 115 as it can affect stability (higher PCI-E also improves graphics card performance marginally)


Your best bet is to just reset the bios to factory settings, reboot....then go into bios and load up your profile again.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default Re: CPUZ Link Width Question

Thanx for the help Gurusan!

I'm gonna try to fix this right now



ALRIGHT! I got back x16 for my link width, but I had to use 105........ Is this ok Gurusan??? Just wondering what the difference is between 100 and 105? Is there a downfall to setting it to 105?
__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCI Link Width to low for PCIe ChiliPalmer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 11-19-2007 01:37 AM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Internet Explorer expanding iframe/CSS Issue kizzeith Programming 0 08-24-2007 03:49 PM
I need helpw ith my website + Css Expanding Please planesrock Programming 2 06-10-2007 01:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.