CPU Water loop work log - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2010, 11:43 PM   #41 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: CPU Water loop work log

Quote:
Originally Posted by LetJimiTakeOver View Post
I meant the whole rig man. 1.5, 2k?

Looks like you have a lot of gear in there. I'm just curious as to what it's all worth...
yea, id say about $1900... wish i had a i7 and a 5970 tho :/

oh well, next time
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 05:32 AM   #42 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: CPU Water loop work log

idle temp 73*F ambient




load temp running prime95

__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 11:24 AM   #43 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
LetJimiTakeOver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rep. of Ireland
Posts: 62
Default Re: CPU Water loop work log

Some nice temps there. I wonder what kinda temps you'd get if you had an i7 @ 1.5v in that system. Probably a bit higher right?
__________________

- Cooler Master HAF932
- Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.0ghz
- ASUS EAH5870 V2 @ 949/1335
- ASUS Rampage II Extreme
- 6GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3
- Windows 7 64bit
LetJimiTakeOver is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 01:33 PM   #44 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU Water loop work log

Quote:
Originally Posted by LetJimiTakeOver View Post
Some nice temps there. I wonder what kinda temps you'd get if you had an i7 @ 1.5v in that system. Probably a bit higher right?
there's no good reason to have 1.5v going thru a i7.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 03:40 PM   #45 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
LetJimiTakeOver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rep. of Ireland
Posts: 62
Default Re: CPU Water loop work log

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
there's no good reason to have 1.5v going thru a i7.
Ok. So the temps would obviously be out of control then.
__________________

- Cooler Master HAF932
- Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.0ghz
- ASUS EAH5870 V2 @ 949/1335
- ASUS Rampage II Extreme
- 6GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3
- Windows 7 64bit
LetJimiTakeOver is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 05:10 PM   #46 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: CPU Water loop work log

i7s like about 1.35
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 05:30 PM   #47 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
LetJimiTakeOver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rep. of Ireland
Posts: 62
Default Re: CPU Water loop work log

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
i7s like about 1.35
Yup. That's what I have mine at!
__________________

- Cooler Master HAF932
- Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.0ghz
- ASUS EAH5870 V2 @ 949/1335
- ASUS Rampage II Extreme
- 6GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3
- Windows 7 64bit
LetJimiTakeOver is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 06:35 PM   #48 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: CPU Water loop work log

the reason i have my voltage so high is because my hardware is not effiecent, i have a crap mother board and i dont have a C3 stepping processor.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 07:52 PM   #49 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: CPU Water loop work log

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
even when i had my H50 radiator in a bucket of ice water, and i was getting 10* idle temp and 25* load temp, i was barley able to boot at 4ghz. so its not temperatures keeping me from going higher, its hardware. i dont belive i ahve a C3 stepping CPU and i have the last gen chip set on my mobo. i did flash the mother board with the newest bios when i reinstalled windows and that didnt help at all.

its hardware, not temps keeping me from going higher
I got my 940 to 4.16GHz in a Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P.

I think it's more likely the board - nothing to do with the chipset, mind you. It's the power regulation. This board does have a vdroop of about 0.03-0.04V in my case.
So when setting the core volts, you need to set them by about that much higher than your target.

But then the board also does have a limit of 1.7V in BIOS (which results in about 1.66V) if you're pushing your CPU to the very limits.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LetJimiTakeOver View Post
Some nice temps there. I wonder what kinda temps you'd get if you had an i7 @ 1.5v in that system. Probably a bit higher right?
You wouldn't want an i7 running at 1.5V, at least unless you're prepared for the possibility of killing the board/chip.

With an i7 and Phenom II chip with equal power consumption, the Phenom II uses higher volts.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hijack this log - cpu is at constant 100% on Windows 7 64bit Ultimate littlejackal HijackThis Logs (finished) 12 03-07-2010 11:12 AM
Here ye Here ye I need a cpu cooling solution but more importantly your advice Kyrone Overclocking and Modding 8 07-18-2009 12:13 AM
water cooling loop for ~150? Burn Cooling 17 03-26-2009 10:34 PM
What's the best CPU I can get............ hesson81 System Upgrades 15 02-12-2009 08:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.