CPU Voltage questions - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2007, 12:51 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Angry Re: CPU Voltage questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Heh, veeb. I was able to get 3.15ghz on stock voltage. Just remember that even though you are keeping the voltage stock, the temp WILL still go up. I say MEH to orthos stability. To get orthos stable at 3.6ghz i had to push over 1.4V which just brings the temps up entirely too high. Dont be afraid to push the chip, i've had mine hit over 80C while running 3dmark06 and had no problems. The q6600 is a tough little bugger.
If you can run through at least five SMP Work units at that speed, without any console errors or blue screens, then and only then would I be impressed..

Seriously, you people with quad cores better get folding...
I will hunt you down...
You think Im joking..
But Im Not.

Would you just look at our team stats. Its disgusting.
Tech-Forums - Team Summary - EXTREME Overclocking Folding @ Home Stats
Surely I cannot be in second place with my crappy C2D 6600..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 01:55 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
SMP Folding is a better test of stability. Noone here seems to care though.. Sad..
SMP folding is a good test, but I get annoyed when I'm halfway through a WU and suddenly it crashes and my work is halted.

Orthos does a good job as well.

Anyway I suppose I better join the TF team
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 02:00 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

It does indeed suck to lose work units. But Id rather lose a work unit and then know my overclock was unstable than waste time on orthos or prime 95 where those programs do nothing to benefit humanity.

I have had worse, some months ago I had five work units in a row in which they all died at 91%.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 02:06 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

well I have used the orthos 8hour test and it has worked for me in the past. Once it passes orthos I've never had any problem folding.

Also 1 thing about folding is that even though it's quite sensitive to instability/errors....it doesn't stress the CPU(s) enough to max out the temperature. Folding gets both my cores to about 49-51c while an orthos run does about 62-65c.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 02:11 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

In my experience, I have been stable in some orthos tests but not folding on certain clocks and settings. And since SMP folding is the one program I try to run indefinitly, I said screw stress testing, now I just use folding itself.

And while orthos, prime 95 and other stress test programs raise the temp of the cpu more than SMP folding, I still hold SMP folding as the higher test, as it is ment to run much longer than any stress test program.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 02:21 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

************************
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 02:58 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 50
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

hey guys! my system hit to 3.2ghz ,ratio 1:1 and pass Orthos for 16hours ,but fail prime95-25.5 in 1 hours so do i realy need to pass prime95?
__________________
very new to computer AND VERY BAD ENGLISH PLEASE ASK IF DO NOT UNDERSTAND.THANKS

Windown xp home
Q6600 SLACR
AVGE-NFORCE-680i-SLI-122-CK-NF68-AR-(DDR2-800MHZ ,2X16SLI)
Zalman-600w-hp
Zlaman cooler-CNPS9700 NT
OCZ-2X1GB-DDR2-PC6400-800MHZ
AVGA-8600GTS-256MB-DDR3-128BIT
CoolerMaster-CM690
500G-SATA-HITACHI
caliman is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 03:01 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

No, If one insists on using any one program to test for stability it would be SMP Folding.

Without using a testing program, So long as you can use the computer as your normally would without errors or blue screens its stable.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 09:15 PM   #29 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Heh, veeb. I was able to get 3.15ghz on stock voltage. Just remember that even though you are keeping the voltage stock, the temp WILL still go up. I say MEH to orthos stability. To get orthos stable at 3.6ghz i had to push over 1.4V which just brings the temps up entirely too high. Dont be afraid to push the chip, i've had mine hit over 80C while running 3dmark06 and had no problems. The q6600 is a tough little bugger.
when you went past 3.15 ghz what did u chsnge the voltage too? Can anyone give me increments if I do need to up the voltage?

Also does anyone know how to get orthos to test all 4 cores on a q6600. opening a 2nd instance doesnt seem to work
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick CPU Voltage Question MetalOwns Overclocking and Modding 7 10-15-2007 04:29 PM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
CPU questions Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-08-2007 02:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.