CPU Voltage questions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2007, 05:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

Any Progress.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Any Progress.
Well I'm at 2.88 ghz ( Riznarf told me to keep bumping it up slow by 5 mhz ). I usually run 3d benchmark2006 and a quick Orthos 30 minute CPU priority 10 test. My final plans are to stop at 320 mhz x 9 = 3.0 ghz, with a multiplier of 2.5 which will get me to 800 with a 4:5 ratio. Temps seem unaffected and I'm still at stock voltage.

That one guy back in the high CPU forum zone claimed people are getting to 3.6 ghz on stock voltage, I think thats a load of crock. Veebufreak got to 3.6 with 1.35V voltage but he can't get stable Orthos overclocks and frankly I want my computer stable enough to do a 8 hour Orthos blend test priorty 10. I plan to do it when I finally get to 3.0 Ghz.

Any recommendations on if I do start changing to voltage? ( some have hinted I may be unable to boot at 3.0 Ghz at stock voltage, but then again you said people have reached 3.2 Ghz with lower voltage? )

Quick question: I disabled EIST Function so I could see my current clocks in CPUZ without getting confused but its still lowering the multiplier to x6 at times, is C1E responsible for this?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 10:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Oh and don't forget to use SMP Folding for stability testing..
Hahahahaha, Nice suttle hint you got there.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 03:19 AM   #14 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

bump, can anyone answer my questions?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 04:42 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

make sure to disable EIST as well as c1e.

Also I don;t understand why people do this slow kind of overclocking.

I usually choose the max voltage that I would be comfortable with running 24/7 100% load...I.E 1.5v.....then I just make a massive jump to like 3.6ghz or something...if it boots and I get into windows I do an orthos run. If it doesn't fail then I raise the FSB a bit....if it does fail then I just knock down the fsb a little, and keep doing it until orthos is stable.

Then i bring down my vcore 1 notch at a time and orthos test it to see how much I can bring the vcore down without losing stability. I can usually find the preliminary (pre-8hour orthos) max overclock in as little an hour or so.

Bringing up the fsb 5 mhz at a time and orthos testing just seems incredibly slow and pointless to me.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 04:54 AM   #16 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
make sure to disable EIST as well as c1e.

Also I don;t understand why people do this slow kind of overclocking.

I usually choose the max voltage that I would be comfortable with running 24/7 100% load...I.E 1.5v.....then I just make a massive jump to like 3.6ghz or something...if it boots and I get into windows I do an orthos run. If it doesn't fail then I raise the FSB a bit....if it does fail then I just knock down the fsb a little, and keep doing it until orthos is stable.

Then i bring down my vcore 1 notch at a time and orthos test it to see how much I can bring the vcore down without losing stability. I can usually find the preliminary (pre-8hour orthos) max overclock in as little an hour or so.

Bringing up the fsb 5 mhz at a time and orthos testing just seems incredibly slow and pointless to me.
Well because cautious people like myself don't wish to change the vcore since it will add heat and reduce the chips lifespan. I want to see how far I can get on stock voltage. Just wondering what kind of Orthos test do you do and how long and at what priority?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 09:19 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
Well because cautious people like myself don't wish to change the vcore since it will add heat and reduce the chips lifespan. I want to see how far I can get on stock voltage. Just wondering what kind of Orthos test do you do and how long and at what priority?
I have been overclocking for years and have never had a chip die from heat or voltage. And these days it's practically impossible to kill a chip that way.

anyway I run orthos for about 30 min to see if it's stable...if it is I'll lower the vcore and run it again.

Once i get a clock I *think* is stable I will do a final real orthos test for about 8-12 hours
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

SMP Folding is a better test of stability. Noone here seems to care though.. Sad..
Ste is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

Heh, veeb. I was able to get 3.15ghz on stock voltage. Just remember that even though you are keeping the voltage stock, the temp WILL still go up. I say MEH to orthos stability. To get orthos stable at 3.6ghz i had to push over 1.4V which just brings the temps up entirely too high. Dont be afraid to push the chip, i've had mine hit over 80C while running 3dmark06 and had no problems. The q6600 is a tough little bugger.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: CPU Voltage questions

Wow, and I was worried about hitting 60C...
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick CPU Voltage Question MetalOwns Overclocking and Modding 7 10-15-2007 04:29 PM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
CPU questions Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-08-2007 02:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.