CPU Voltage @ 1.600 is it too high? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2006, 12:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default CPU Voltage @ 1.600 is it too high?

im OC my x2 4800+ to 2.8GHz (mobo: DFI Lanparty Nf4SLI-DR). its stable (prime95 12hours and OCCT) @ 1.600volts even. and anything under that will make it unstable..is 1.6 too much? i heard its better under 1.6 but im exactly @ 1.6.... and the CPU temp and Chipset temp stay pretty cool. CPU reaches 42c at max load and usually stays around 33c. chipset never goes past 50c. but PWMIC get super hot (65c or so...dfi-street says keep it under 70c, means never go past 70c) so i need some fan around the RAM area...but i have one another noob question. which 1 is considerd to be the "MOBO temp"? chipset temp or PWMIC temp? cuz they r very different. btw im using OCZ titanium ddr400. right now 234x12=2808 and ram@1:1. ive been trying various ram timings....i made the timings loose, but its all trial and error...ram voltage at 2.8. o and btw, when i use ram divider, i get more errors...wth??
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

If it's cool and stable at 1.6 you should be safe...i wouldn't go much higher though.
__________________

__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 12:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Twizted_3kgt
If it's cool and stable at 1.6 you should be safe...i wouldn't go much higher though.
how did u get urs to 2.81? did u use ram divider?
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 12:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Well he has a single core which is a bit of different story...generally in the case of multiple cores one core will require more vcore to maintain higher stability than the other so they are dependant on it other as each core is engineered differently, but a single core, is just that, a single core, and finding and acheiving its plateau is much easier

Now then, if you mean to say that CPU-Z is reporting your vcore at 1.6vcore that is fine and is probably your max, but if you have manually assigned 1.6vcore in the BIOS settings you're probably in some trouble at you also have to take into considering CPU Special VID control which will generally translate 1.6vcore into 1.65-1.7v depending on what it's set at

I would also recommend you do some modifications and get some air blowing over your mosfets, even if 70C is the maximum threshold you have to remember that the PWM IC controls all the voltage going through your board therefore the cooler you keep it the better...plus considering it only have a microsink on it, the temperature is just going to slowly rise under load
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 01:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Well he has a single core which is a bit of different story...generally in the case of multiple cores one core will require more vcore to maintain higher stability than the other so they are dependant on it other as each core is engineered differently, but a single core, is just that, a single core, and finding and acheiving its plateau is much easier

Now then, if you mean to say that CPU-Z is reporting your vcore at 1.6vcore that is fine and is probably your max, but if you have manually assigned 1.6vcore in the BIOS settings you're probably in some trouble at you also have to take into considering CPU Special VID control which will generally translate 1.6vcore into 1.65-1.7v depending on what it's set at

I would also recommend you do some modifications and get some air blowing over your mosfets, even if 70C is the maximum threshold you have to remember that the PWM IC controls all the voltage going through your board therefore the cooler you keep it the better...plus considering it only have a microsink on it, the temperature is just going to slowly rise under load
hey gaara thx for the reply. ya the cpu voltage is from cpuz. since it loses about 0.02v from BIOS. i know dual core wont OC much compared to single core. i just didnt realize he had the single core. im thinking to buy more fans. if the PWMIC stays cooler im gonna be so happy w what i got.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 11:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

no it dont think 1.6v is to high i have put as hi as 1.67 to my dud as.ss chip trying to go beyond 1881mhz but, so yea im selling it... but i think 1.7 would be it. i wouldnt go anyfurhter than that. especially for a expensive chip like urs
burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 12:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by burned-ati
no it dont think 1.6v is to high i have put as hi as 1.67 to my dud as.ss chip trying to go beyond 1881mhz but, so yea im selling it... but i think 1.7 would be it. i wouldnt go anyfurhter than that. especially for a expensive chip like urs
cool thx for the advive. i thought dual core socket 939 cant hundle more than 1.65 or so??
anyway, its just my PWMIC temp is high...thats what im worried about. i need more fans...more noise..
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 01:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by boomstick666
i know dual core wont OC much compared to single core..
Are you kidding? At 1.525v, I can overclock my 165 by 1GHz prime stable. ANYWAY, I wouldn't go much higher than 1.6v on dual core.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 03:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

on AMD64's in general the absolute max I'd go is 1.65........although I've personally pushed it to about 1.7 or so I wouldn't recommend it. Not that I'm in anyway saying I'm 'better' or anything, if anything you could deduce I'm just dumber

Anywho, with the memory controllers being ondie, with too much voltage, even if cooled, it can infact fry memory controllers.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

if that weren't the case, I figure some of these venice/san diego chips would go a long, long way.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.