CPU Temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2004, 01:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Yon
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 246
Default CPU Temps

What do you guys use to check your CPU temps? And give a link if it's a downloadable one
__________________

__________________
Intel P4 3.2GHz Prescott @ 3.8GHz
Asus P5GD2 Premium Motherboard
Saphire x800XT With VGA Silencer @ 520MHz and 1.15GHz
Corsair 1GB XMS2-4300
Antec PlusView 1000AMG Case
Maxtor 160GB SATA Hard Drive
Yon is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 02:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Some people like smartfan. If you have an Asus board, it has software that monitors everything. Your bios tells you whats going on also. There are others.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 05:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Yon
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 246
Default

Also, if i was lagging, how could i tell where the bottleneck is?
__________________
Intel P4 3.2GHz Prescott @ 3.8GHz
Asus P5GD2 Premium Motherboard
Saphire x800XT With VGA Silencer @ 520MHz and 1.15GHz
Corsair 1GB XMS2-4300
Antec PlusView 1000AMG Case
Maxtor 160GB SATA Hard Drive
Yon is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 05:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Judging by your system I would say its the ram because you processor and video card are definitely not the problem. Maybe you should invest in a stick of 512 if you are playing some newer stuff like doom 3.
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Motherboard Monitor 5, sorry I don't have a link, but if you just type it in google it'll be like the first ones there. Also good utilities are CPU-Z and WCPUID but the last two basically give you the same information. You'd be able to tell if you had a bottleneck with CPU-Z because it'll tell you if your ram and cpu have a 1:1 ratio. If it doesn't then you need to adjust it to make it 1:1 and thus ridding yourself of a bottleneck
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 04:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

search for sandra si software, and use the 2004 one to benchmark all of your system, find out what, if anything, is bottlenecking your system, etc..
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.