CPU temp monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2006, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default CPU temp monitor

Hi I downloaded Everest Home Edition and I'm wondering if it is a good system monitor for my setup:

Gigabyte DS3 965p
Intel Core 2 Duo e6600 @ 2.4Ghz/Zalman/as5
2x1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 800
Sapphire x1950PRO 256mb
OCZ 700W
Soundblaster X-fi Xtrememusic

I hear that this program was discontinued in late 2005, so that means my cpu is too new for it I guess. I really wanted a program like this primarily just to monitor my cpu temps without having to go into the BIOS ect. Well, this one says:

Temperatures:

CPU 1 °C (34 °F)
Aux 31 °C (88 °F)
WDC WD2500YD-01NVB1 4 °C (39 °F)

The Aux temp is the same as what my BIOS says, so I guess that's right. But what about the cpu? What should I go by?

Is there a better program out there that is actually fully compatible with Conroes? Please link me to it if possible. thanks.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default

BIOS again, try RivaTuner i think search the forums its really handy! We all have the same problems
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

Hehe, I KNOW!

Core Temp Beta: I am an avid follower of this program, it supports all newer AMD and INTEL processors.

http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/CoreTemp/

THE BEST program for monitoring CPU temp. I LOVE it.

Dex
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 07:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Ive got Everest ultimate edition, the GPU temps are always the same as my temp on nvidia control panel so it must be fairly accurate
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 12:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

I've already tried searching the forums using "cpu temperature monitor" and the like and all it comes up with is "omg I monitor my cpu temperature it's 110c I think it blew up help!" and things like that lol.

Thanks for those links. I'll download them when I get home on monday.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 12:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

I use Core Temp.

It's as close to the BIOS as you can get, and everest is a joke for CPU tempeture monitoring.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 12:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Yes I've found that to be true haha.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 02:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Hey Core Temp is pretty cool. Very simple and seems to give the same numbers as my BIOS. By the way, 30C a good number for a 2.4Ghz e6600w/Zalmanw/AS5 when idling?
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 02:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Yup thats good.

Do you have an exhuast fan, and if so is it powerful?

I put a 74 CMF Thermaltake thunderblade for my exhuast and the Zalman blows all it's hot air out that, and My temps decreased by 3C.

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 05:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Yeah my NZXT Apollo has a side fan blowing in and a rear blowing out. Both are 120mm. I'm going to buy another 120mm and mount it on the bottom in the front.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.