CPU temp. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2006, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default CPU temp.

Hey all, I gotta question about my CPU temp. It seems that since I installed more ram, my base temps (cpu & mobo) have gone up. my cpu temp was usually @ 35-40c but now it seems to run anywhere between 45-48c. nominally. at full use it runs from 55-62c. I've got 3 fans on my case, and of course the stock fan on the cpu. Can anyone tell me what my issues seem to be? And if they think an antec PCI slot blower might help the airflow?

my rig to date:

AMD 64 X2 4200+
ASUS A8V mobo
Nvidia 6800 GS (agp)
2gb ram (up from 1) in 128 bit dual channel mode
Creative SB Audigy 2
__________________

Kain77 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 09:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Your CPU is running at max 62C max? That's dangerously high. Did you take off the HSF when you put in the RAM? Because sometimes if you have an aftermarket HSF, it can block some of the RAM slots. If you did, did you clean everything and reapply your thermal compound? Just a few ideas.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Nope, no aftermarket HSF, I'll PM you some details.
Kain77 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Wow, thats very high. Could you type the details for everyone to see?
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

sure, basically, when I applied the thermal compound, I applied arctic silver on the back of the cpu, and "thinned" of flattened it out with a credit card, the instructions sounded odd at first, but it seemed to work great.
Kain77 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Check your PMs.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

You could of put too much on it. Also, did you clean off the old thermal paste before applying the new AS5?
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 11:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

was a brand new cpu, no thermal paste, although there was a patch of thermal something on the HSF.

should I take out the HSF, clean off the cpu, and HSF and reapply? how would i go about taking off the HSF without ripping out the cpu. on my old mobo, i was attempting to take off the HSF and the cpu came out with it. the cpu didn't break, the prongs were alright, but I'd hate to trash a brand new cpu.

how do I go about getting the old thermal compound off? any ideas, suggestions?
Kain77 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 11:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

you do not spread AS5 on ur cpu. u just need a rice grain size of drop on the center of the cpu. as u put the HSF, it presses and spreads itself.
and you have to take the thermal pad it came w ur stock/after market HSF. everytime the HSF is removed, you have to clean both surfaces w/ 90%+ alcohole.
http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 11:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Default

thats incredibly high... arent amd supposed to run relatively lower that intels? my intel runs at 45-55... and your at 62. wow.
__________________

Keadonen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.