CPU speed/RAM timing question.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Syrillian

In Runtime
Hi,

Which of the following sets of speeds would be faster for gaming?

I am fairly new to overclocking and would like some input please...

1) CPU @ 2.2GHz / RAM @ 220MHz (3-3-3-8)

2) CPU @ 2.4GHz / RAM @ 166MHz (2.5-3-3-7)

CPU = AMD Athlon FX x2 3800+
RAM = 2 x 1GB Corsair ValueRAM

There are only 2 sets of speeds (listed above) shown under the "SPD" tab of CPU-Z

Also, what is the RAM divider, specifically where can I view the information and where can I alter it? In the BIOS only?

Motherboard = ASUS A8N32SLI-Deluxe

Thanks for your time.

The best is the first one. In the second your RAM is underclocked (even though the timings are slightly tighter), which isn't a good thing. A RAM divider is used in overclocking. When raising the FSB on the CPU to overclock it, it also overclocks the RAM. If your RAM isn't stable with the overclock, you have to use a RAM divider. It's basically a ratio that makes the RAM clock speed increase more slowly as you raise the FSB. That way you can raise the FSB, but lower your RAM's clock speed so your RAM won't limit the overclock.

If you put a divider on the RAM, it will downclock the RAM. But as you continue to overclock your CPU, it will bring it back up to it's normal speed. Sometimes you will overclock the CPU enough to where the RAM becomes a bottleneck again, which means you have to either put a larger divider on it or stop overclocking. Understand now?

Go with number 1.

A divider is basically the ratio of FSB speed to Ram speed, so when its set to stock settings its at 1:1, with FSB at 200 and memory at 200mhz - effectively DDR400.

example. I have a opty 175. Its multiplyer is stock a 11.

So if you set your divider to 1/2, which forces your ram speed to 1/2 of your FSB, so at stock speeds your cpu would still be 200x11, but your ram would be 100, or DDR200.

Dividers are OC best freind somtimes :D